Daybook: July 17, 2017

Monday, July 17

flower+dahlia+vintage+image+GraphicsFairy007

Outside my window…….it’s sunny and the weedy backyard is taunting me.

I am thinking…….about my schedule for this week and how I’m going to accomplish everything on my to-do list.

I am thankful for……a very flexible work schedule, the ability to attend graduate school and only have to work part-time, reasonably good health.

From the kitchen…..not much right now, although I’m planning on trying a new recipe for dinner tonight. And I may also bake the rest of the batch of ginger cookies — the dough is hanging out in the freezer while I decide if I’m baking it or freezing it.

I am wearing…..shorts and a tank top.

I am creating…..chaos wherever I go. 😉

I am going…….to the vets later today, to school tomorrow, to get my oil changed tomorrow morning, to take an important exam (must pass to graduate) on Friday.

I am reading……..the same things I mentioned in my last post, as well as Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. Well, I need to start that book, actually. It’s for bookclub this Friday, which I am hosting.

I am hoping……to do well on the exam!

I am hearing…..a classical playlist I enjoy on Amazon Prime. Classical music and good headphones allow me to concentrate on my work even when my husband is on the phone all day.

Around the house…….the cats are lounging about, some clutter has accumulated that I really should take care of so that my tidying on Friday isn’t such an ordeal.

One of my favorite things……is watching cats enjoy a new box.

A few plans for the rest of the week…..in addition to the errands/tasks I mentioned earlier, I’ll be studying for that exam, working on some around the house projects and, if I have time, working on some quilting, too.

Here is a picture I am sharing…….of some of my meal prep yesterday. I think the salad base ingredients are so pretty as I chop them up!

salad base prep

10 thoughts on “Daybook: July 17, 2017

  1. OMGosh! I too love very colourful salads, and I like the looks of yours. It makes me want to dig in. But usually mine look very rushed and last minute with torn lettuce, some diced cucumber and a few pieces of tomato. If you do all the chopping and combining at once, how long will those veggies stay fresh and crispy? Inquiring minds NEED to know. Ha. And where do you find all that boundless energy to do everything you do in a week? Here is my Monday Daybook..http://sues-retirementfunds.blogspot.ca/2017/07/daybook-monday-170717.html

    1. This made 2 gallon bags of salad mix, about 2lbs. This will last us through the whole week and the I’ve found the quality to be good throughout. I don’t add fragile greens like spinach or leaf lettuce — just romaine, red & green cabbage, scallions and carrots. We might add spinach when we make our salads, but if I add it to the mix, it wilts pretty fast.

      The question of boundless energy is definitely up for debate!

    1. Hahaha, well you’ll notice that this was on my list of things to prep LAST week and I didn’t buy any romaine during my most recent trip…so…I have more a get around to it approach to things than a “get ‘er done” approach. 😉

  2. Oh the weedy garden. I have that very same problem. I love to garden, I have one out front for my more “viney” foods, like cucumberd and different kinds of melons, and one out back that was supposed to have a WHOLE lot of different veggies. However, the weeds just decided to bolt themselves upright towards to sky and heavens above and I haven’t the slightest idea what happened so differently this year than last year. I really need to weed it but the procrastinator side of me is say nah just leave it till it dies.
    I really enjoyed this post, it made me chuckle a little bit especially about your cats.

    1. Hi! It would be a stretch to call any of the growing things around the house a garden, lol. But I totally get you on the procrastination!

      Thanks for stopping by! The cats are recurring characters here, hope you’ll visit again.

    1. Thank! I saw this via email before the exam and it really lifted my spirits to know you were thinking of me!

  3. I’m sorry I am so far behind with my comments! I read you at the office, but haven’t quite figured out how to comment on here as “anonymous Bless” or “Lunchtime Bless”.

    I love the colorful salad base and I am going to try something like that, myself. I think I’ll eat more salads if some of the ingredients have been prepared ahead of time!

    Hope you did well in your test. As for garden weeds, they are doing very well in my garden, too! I leave them because they provide some green to my parched garden.

    1. We definitely eat more salads if I prep this base, me especially, as the work of chopping everything for just myself seems too tedious, but doing enough for a week is just right.

      The test was a bit harder than we all expected, so I am somewhat anxious about the results. Since it’s a national comprehensive exam, there’s not much to do but wait and see what happens!

Comments are closed.