Groceries: July 8 – 14

I visited Publix and Aldi for groceries this week. I thought I might stop at Save-A-Lot this weekend for the pork roast that is $.99/lb, but we have too much food in our freezer, so I need to focus on eating that down, as opposed to building it up. My total spent on groceries for both stores was $59.68.

Publix_July09_17

I went to Publix last weekend. I wanted to take advantage of some coupon match-ups, both for food and household items. I bought:

  • Sun-dried tomatoes, $2.99
  • Perdue “Encrusted” frozen, pre-cooked chicken breasts, $6.99/BOGO -$1.50/2 coupon = $5.49
  • Liberte yogurt, $1.79/ea – Publix BOGO coupon – $1.99 digital coupon -$.30 digital coupon = FREE + I actually made $.50.
  • Kentucky Legend Ham Steaks, $3.29/BOGO – $1.50/1 Publix coupon = $1.79/2
  • Yellow onions, $.99/lb for 1.81lbs = $1.79
  • Sweet potatoes, $.99/lb for 2.39lbs = $2.37
  • Bananas, $.65/lb for 2lbs = $1.30
  • Ken’s Salad Dressing, $3.49/BOGO
  • Lance Crackers, $2.33/ea – $1/2 coupon = $3.66
  • Pasta, $1.59/BOGO – $1/2 coupon = $.59/2

I wasn’t expecting the both digital coupons for the liberte yogurt to come off the total — this may be the first time in my life I have achieved a “moneymaker” since I am a pretty lackadaisical couponer. The frozen chicken is in my stash of quick foods for busy times that is growing in my freezer. So are the ham steaks — they are a nice size for just the two of us, without a ton of leftovers. Aldi was out of onions and I have not loved the quality the last couple of times I’ve bought them there or at Save-A-Lot, so picked these up instead. I had planned on just grabbing a 3lb bag, but the loose onions were actually cheaper. I don’t need any pasta at all, but have been filling up a bag of items for the food pantry and these will be perfect for that. My total for food at Publix was $23.08. I also picked up six bottles of Pantene shampoo and conditioner for $8.14 which made me very happy, although that doesn’t come out of the grocery budget. That will last me over a year!

Aldi_July09_17

And I stopped by Aldi on my way home from class last night. I was primarily interested in stocking up on produce, as you can see. I bought:

  • Nathan’s hot dogs, $2.89
  • Hot dog bugs, $.83
  • Organic black beans, 4 cans @ $.89/ea
  • Enchilada sauce, $1.89
  • Restaurant style tortilla chips, $1.59
  • Round tortilla chips, $1.49
  • English muffins, $.99
  • Zucchini, $1.49/24oz
  • Tri-color peppers, 2 packs @ $1.49/ea
  • Garlic, $.99
  • Avocados, 3 @ $.89/ea
  • Red cherries, 2lbs @ $1.29/ea
  • Pink Lady apples, 4lbs @ $4.29
  • Milk, $2.95
  • Sharp cheddar cheese, $1.79
  • Frozen broccoli florets, $1.19/ea
  • Mushrooms, 4 boxes @ $.79/ea

My total was $36.53 but I just realized that I was charged for an extra box of cherries, so I’ll have to see about getting that taken care of when I’m in next. Ugh. I was excited about the peppers — I had a pack in the fridge already and just went ahead and sliced up three packs for the freezer since we use them so often. If I don’t use the mushrooms in the next couple of days, I will saute them and then freeze them as well. But I have plans that should keep them from lingering. I bought the two different kinds of tortilla chips because the restaurant style are good for snacking but the round ones are the kinds I like to use for nachos.

So far I have spent a total of $166.28 on groceries this month. This leaves me $133.72 for the rest of the month.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Groceries: July 8 – 14

  1. I love the photobombing cat in the last picture, hahaha. I ALWAYS think of you whenever I see the peppers on sale at Aldi 🙂

    It’s just as well that you didn’t go to Save A Lot for the $0.99 pork butt roast. I went last night to get other things and I looked at it… at least at my store they were only selling it in HUGE packages, like the whole butt, I guess (the size of a whole country ham leg!). It definitely wouldn’t have fit in your freezer if you only had a little bit of space.

    You got a moneymaker deal, woohoo! You did better than I did with the yogurt as you got 2 and still got money back! I hadn’t clipped the BOGO coupon since I never buy those anyway, plus I think I saw it after I had already redeemed the freebie coupon. I’m also buying the onions by the pound now, the last 2 bags I got either at SAL or Aldi both ended up getting moldy pretty fast. Were the pink lady apples really 4 lbs? I thought all the apple bags at Aldi were 3 lbs. I might get those if they’re 4 lbs when I go on Sunday, we love those apples. Good luck with the cherries, I hope they refund you. I always try to look at my receipt right after I check out, before I even start bagging but this past Sunday I was with Greg so my routine was off and I didn’t. If I had, I would have realized that the strawberries were marked down to $0.49 a package and bought more! How are the cherries, btw? We really liked the Rainier cherries, Greg said they looked “bizarre” but he liked them better than the regular ones.

    You still have plenty of money for the rest of the month so way to go! You can do it!

    1. I had to take pics on the kitchen table, so a cat photobomb was inevitable!

      It’s funny because after I posted this I went out to get something from the freezer and found that I already had a pork roast in there! Which is crazy because I just did that inventory and so I should have know. I think I thought it was a ham.

      Good catch — it was a 3lb bag of pink lady apples. Typo on my part, sorry!

      The cherries were excellent, we’re already out of them!

  2. I am very impressed with the prices of produce at Aldi, especially the zucchini, peppers, avocados and mushrooms. Having just bought those veggies this week, I can tell you that I paid more than twice that. You are doing really well with your grocery budget. Halfway through the month and I just found out that a lot of those things I bought at the beginning of the month, I cannot eat. So I may have to dip into money set aside for other things. We will see. It is all still new to me.

    1. Thanks Susan! They aren’t always that low, but even Aldi’s regular prices on produce are usually lower than most other stores. I did see that you have a totally new diet per your doctor, so that seems like it will be quite an adjustment! Best of luck!

Comments are closed.