A Dud

retro-baking-vintageimage-Graphics-Fairy

This week for my new recipe goal, I made banana bread using a recipe from The Prudent Homemaker. It wasn’t a complete failure, but it wasn’t anything to write home about, either. I did substitute some applesauce for the bananas (the recipe called for six).  And the recipe uses very little added fat, relying on the bananas for moisture. I rarely enjoy very low-fat baked goods, so I’m not sure why I thought I’d care for this one. I also had to bake it for much longer than indicated and it was still a little gummy.  We have about half the loaf left and I will probably use it to make French toast this weekend.

I know every new recipe can’t knock it out of the park, but I always hope they do!

4 thoughts on “A Dud

  1. hhhm, French toast! You could also use it for bread pudding. With some rum-flavored custard… oh don’t mind me, I’m dreaming! I occasionally bake my banana bread with unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and usually I don’t have any problems and I haven’t noticed that it was gummier but maybe I just don’t mind it? I do add chocolate chips to the banana bread though.

    1. I think the gumminess, was due to the amount of bananas, not lack of oil. Usually when I make low-fat baked goods, they have kind of a..bouncy? texture. Not overcooked, just a different texture and mouth feel.

      I didn’t have enough for a bread pudding,but that would have been good. The french toast was pretty yummy, too!

  2. I have tried a few of her recipes and they have all been ok and perfectly edible, but not delicious. If I am going to bake I want delicious.,

Comments are closed.