Meal Plan: July 8 – 15

retro-baking-vintageimage-Graphics-Fairy

I always forget how tiring a day spent at the doctors and then caring for someone can be. I ended up not making the Cilantro Lime Chicken soup on Friday as a result, although we just had leftovers — I guess kind of a good thing in the end as I wanted to get those out of the fridge! Cooking three or four meals each week is working well for us; especially if I do some minor food prep for lunches/breakfasts as well. With that in mind, here is what I have planned for this week:

  • Cilantro Lime Chicken Soup
  • Pasta w/Red Sauce & Meatballs,* Rappini
  • Black Beans* w/Mango Sauce, Brown Rice
  • Oven Fajitas, Coleslaw

Meal Prep

  • Basic Grilled Chicken (for soup, salad, etc)
  • Banana Bread
  • Apple Pie Baked Oatmeal
  • Hard Boiled Eggs
  • Salad Base
  • Chicken Salad w/Grapes and Apples
  • Carrot Sticks

The meatballs and red sauce will also be large batches with some prepped for the freezer. Β And I’ll have extra black beans which we will no doubt be eating plain with the rice, too.

6 thoughts on “Meal Plan: July 8 – 15

  1. I don’t recall that you ever shared what your husband’s diagnostic ended up being but I understand if you don’t want to as it is private. I hope your husband is OK and that having a diagnostic will help find an appropriate treatment for what ails him. Are there certain foods he has to avoid?

    The good thing about “missing” dinners is that you can postpone them to the following week, woohoo! We also had leftovers a few nights this week so I can reuse several dinner ideas that I had planned on cooking last week. I had to google “rappini” because I couldn’t remember what it was. One curse of getting older is that I have noticed the past few months that onions and broccoli/cruciferous veggies now make me gassy. Even last year I didn’t have that problem and was annoyed at Greg for wanting to avoid them, lol. I guess Beano and I have to become best friends πŸ™‚

    Hmm, chicken salad with apples and grapes sounds delicious.

    1. He had to have a GI scope. Really not an overly intensive procedure, but he really hates getting put under so we were both a little stressed about that. His GP is pretty sure his overarching concern is GERD, and the scope was to rule out any excessive scarring or Barrett’s Esophagus. That at least looks to be pretty good. When we go back we’ll hear more about what foods to avoid; probably coffee, ugh!

      Yes, it’s nice to just move the missed meal to the next week! I ended up not even making the rappini because I needed to get it from Publix and didn’t get to the store yesterday when I made the meatballs. We had broccoli instead. Oh well. πŸ˜‰

      And yes, aging has unfortunate consequences, huh?! It’s funny to me the things that have started bothering Michael and I. Partly because they are things I remember happening to my parents and I would think that they were just so old. πŸ˜›

      I have been craving chicken salad for a while now! I hope this does the trick!

      1. I just read up on Barrett’s Esophagus, wow. So it’s really good that there doesn’t seem to be concern over that. Ugh, avoiding coffee… would you then go off coffee too in solidarity? Greg’s gastroenterologist never found out what ailed Greg a few years ago when he was so in pain and did a battery of tests (including colonoscopy and having to swallow that pill-shaped camera for them to examine his GI tract as well) but he went off coffee on his own. He used to be caffeine addicted to it was quite a change for him. He switched to tea. I guess I was a bad wife because I didn’t stop drinking coffee, in fact I started drinking more of it since now I could make all the flavored coffee that I wanted (he doesn’t like flavored coffee), lol. But recently he’s started drinking it again, we’ll have to see if that affects him. I just realized that he used to burp a lot and I haven’t heard him burp in quite a while, I’ll have to ask him about it. He didn’t want to try to do the elimination diet.

        I don’t know if stomach/digestion problems are on the rise as a whole or if I just notice them more since Greg has had trouble, but my daughter’s BFF suddenly developed very serious digestive problems as well (I forget what her diagnosis is but she’s going to KY in a few days to have some type of stimulator implanted in her stomach) and several of my readers have shared their trouble with pretty disruptive digestive issues as well. I think that nowadays, they add so many additives to so many foods, it’s a crapshot to try to find out what exactly hurts us, isn’t it? If it’s not the additives, it’s the pesticides or whatever genes they add to our food to make it bug and disease resistant. But then who can afford eating organic and non-GMO all the time? And I’m not convinced that all products that claim they’re organic actually are (thanks Monsanto for contaminating everything!) or that it necessarily “protects” you. I think that now that we have more of our income freed up, though, I might inch towards buying fewer and fewer pre-made foods.

        Anyhoo, good luck to Michael (and to you too!).

      2. Hi! Sorry it took me a minute to get back to you, Nathalie! I would NOT give up my coffee in solidarity, although I would probably drink less. We did buy a smaller pot when our big coffeemaker broke, so we have cut back on quantity already. Michael has symptoms like you describe Greg having, but he is so resistant to trying an elimination diet! I think if a doctor TOLD him he has to do it, he would, but otherwise he’s not that interested.

        I’m not sure about GI problems being on the rise, per se, but I do think that modern food practices have done terrible things to our gut bacteria. I need to sit down and really come up with a good approach to restoring that for both of us in our diet, because i’m pretty sure we’d both benefit. I’m less concerned with the organic and the non-GMO stuff and more about using techniques that don’t kill everything on site — like starting to get into lacto fermentation and building up other sources of probiotics in our diet.

        My uncle passed away two years ago from cancer caused by Barrett’s, as did his brother. I am really, really glad that Michael’s scope showed no signs of that!!

  2. Your meal plan/menu for the week sounds good, as always. Making double or triple batches of things like the meatballs and freezing them is a good idea, especially for those busy days to come when you’ll be pressed for time. I’m still eating from the freezer, although, this week, I think I’ll cook at least one fresh item. Maybe a fish curry and some cabbage.

    1. Thank you Bless! Yes, I’m getting around to the idea that I really don’t need to cook all that often for just the two of us. Fish curry sounds good — I hope you made some and enjoyed it!

Comments are closed.