Creamy Ham and Veggie Soup

Creamy ham and veggie soup 2

It might be a bit of a stretch to call this a new recipe, since I didn’t follow one, but I’ve also never made this soup before so…I’m counting it as a way to get back on track! Usually I make ham and bean soup with leftover ham, but thought that ham and potato sounded good this time, plus I have a ton of potatoes on hand. And then I decided that I should just add some extra veggies so that I could in good faith call this a one-pot-meal. It’s pretty simple.

Creamy Ham & Veggie Soup

Serves 8 – 10

  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 extra large carrot, chopped (my carrot was a monster — you want roughly the same amount of carrots and celery, so use that as your guide)
  • 2 onions, chopped (again, see above — I wanted an even ratio of carrots, celery and onion)
  • 1 T. olive or vegetable oil
  • dried herbs and other seasonings to taste (I used a Bavarian blend, but dried rosemary would be good)
  • 4 -5 potatoes, chopped
  • 6 – 8 cups broth
  • 2  cups chopped ham
  • 1 can cream style corn
  • 1 pkg. frozen broccoli florets
  • 1 – 2 T. cornstarch
  • salt and pepper
  • heavy cream (optional)
  • green onions and shredded cheese to serve
  1. Heat oil in large stock pot. Saute celery, carrots and onion until onion is translucent and the other veggies seem slightly softened.
  2. Add desired seasonings and potatoes and continue to cook for a minute or so.
  3. Add broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.
  4. Add ham, creamed corn, broccoli and continue to simmer until heated through.
  5. Make a slurry using some of the broth and some cornstarch. Stir into soup and cook until slightly thickened.
  6. Stir in cream or half and half if desired (I added about a 1/4 cup), and season to taste with salt and pepper.
  7. Serve with chopped green onions and shredded cheese.

Enjoy! We had ours with leftover rolls, but biscuits or crackers would be tasty, too. Or just on it’s own.

 

4 thoughts on “Creamy Ham and Veggie Soup

  1. This sounds really good, but I will have to wait until fall to try it. TheHub has some arbitrary dates for soup eating and we have passed his dates until October. It makes no sense to me, but it’s a small concession so I will go along with it.

    1. I have slowly converted Michael to a year round soup consumer, although we do tend to slow down a bit over the summer. If you try the recipe, I hope that you like it!

Comments are closed.