Five Frugal Things

part0

Chocolate stash: for scale, the tin is about the diameter of a medium pizza pan and quite deep.

  1. Even though I’ve stocked up on lots of items this month (and have blown the grocery budget), I’m still concentrating on using up items on hand. I’ve got a ways to go on using up all that chocolate, but I made magic layer bars, chocolate pecan scones and ganache for the Easter cream puffs using goodies from this tin rather than buying something special. I also used a lemon cake mix that had been in the cupboard for a while to make a lime soaked citrus cake. I should have added some baking powder, but it still tasted good. And had the added advantage of also using up a container of limeade concentrate and some leftover frosting that had been in the fridge for a LONG time.

***All these desserts were made over the course of a whole month. Even my sweet tooth is not that intense!

2. I picked up a tub drain cover at Target after pulling an unseemly amount of hair and other debris from the shower drain. So gross. Hopefully this will keep us from having to call a plumber out or do any expensive DIY work.

3. I chopped up leftover Easter ham to use in a ham, potato and bean soup for dinner tonight. This also makes use of some white beans I have in the pantry, bought quite a while ago at the local Mormon canning center. I’ll also use the ham to make egg cups for breakfasts/snacks this week, ham fried rice, and chop up the remainder to freeze in 1 cup portions.

4. Frugal splurge: I used a $10 Balance Reward that had accumulated at Walgreens to get three 12 packs of Diet Dr. Pepper for only $2 OOP. An end-of-semester lifesaver. Which is what I’m also calling the package of cherry licorice that jumped into the cart at the same time…

5. I finally took Nathalie’s advice and rooted the green onions I buy at Aldi. I planted them in the same planter that has the cilantro (currently looking great!). Hopefully they will thrive and my need to buy green onions is more or less over!

6 thoughts on “Five Frugal Things

  1. You really are doing well, especially dealing with sickness and school stuff.
    This must be the month of the flat cakes (or either we both have very old cake mixes on hand).
    I am still using my pantry and freezer resources too and even though I am going to the store this month I am buying very little until I get my current stash even lower.
    My chocolate pile looks kind of like yours. What was I thinking and why was I thinking it?

    1. Your post about the chantilly cake reminded me of how flat mine had been. The cake mix was old, although I’ve never had one come out quite so flat and uneven!

      I think the chocolate multiplies when left alone. Secret liaisons among the sweets. 😉

  2. Ha! I was thinking that you did bake all of this over the weekend and that no wonder you were tired! I hope your enjoy your endless green onions!

    1. That would have been one sugar crash! The onions seem to be doing well and I am excited. I still have the rest of the pack to use (and then plant), so I hope by the time their gone I can start to trim from my new plants.

  3. Sounds like you are doing very well with the frugal/use it up goals, even if your stocking up blew the grocery budget. Sometimes, that happens (ask me how I know!) Ooh, a chocolate stash! How lovely! Wouldn’t last a couple of days at my house!

    1. Haha, that chocolate stash seems to multiply when we aren’t looking. That’s the only way I can explain how much is in there. 😉

Comments are closed.