Daybook: 3/27/2017

2017-03-25 13.08.30

Hiking on Cumberland Island. Its been largely undeveloped and the forest and understory are amazing!

Monday, March 27

I took an unplanned, but very much enjoyed blogging break last week. But now my spring break is over and I’m back at school and back here, too. I didn’t take a break from everything last week — I still worked and Michael was able to take some time off so we were busy with some around the house projects. It was so nice to immerse myself in those projects and in just hanging out with my husband! I am way behind on commenting on blogs, although I have tried to keep up on feedly. Mostly I just ignored my laptop as much as possible, though. I thought I’d ease back into blogging with a daybook post, which I haven’t done in forever.

Outside my window…….it’s dark! I’m writing this pretty early in the morning and it’s both quiet and dark still, outside. I like this time of day, when I make it happen.

I am thinking…….about the work I have for this week. Part of the reason I took such a completely break last week is because this semester has been SO MUCH in terms of work and obligations. It was nice to have that break, but of course today feels like ripping off the band-aid.

I am thankful for……a comfortable home, time with my husband and coffee. Always coffee. 🙂

From the kitchen…..not much happening yet, but in a minute I will make our morning coffee (I drink a large glass of water first) and probably some oatmeal for my breakfast. I also want to boil some eggs before I leave for campus.

I am wearing…..sweatpants and a comfy t-shirt. I never loved sweatpants until I bought this pair from Kohls in the fall. I have no illusions that they are in any way attractive, but they are so comfy! I would like another pair, but that will have to wait until my Compact year is up.

I am creating…..not much, lately.

I am going…….to campus early today to participate in interviews of applicants for the upcoming year and meet up to discuss some projects with group members.

I am reading……..several articles about schizophrenia and several other articles about the Gestalt method.

I am hoping……to maintain my sanity for the rest of this semester.

I am hearing…..cats creeping about and the occasional car passing by outside.

Around the house…….I organized and inventoried my spice cupboard! It was mortifying. I’ll share more about that exciting adventure this week, but it was just bad.

One of my favorite things……having a few quiet moments all to myself in the morning. I should make it happen more often.

A few plans for the rest of the week…..mostly include school obligations and work. Plus whatever tasks around the house I can keep up with. In the next three weeks I have five presentations, three papers and a gazillion pages of reading to keep up with. And then it’s finals!! 8-|

Here is a picture I am sharing…….from Cumberland Island. Michael and I took a day trip there over the weekend and had a wonderful time. It beautiful and haunting at places. We’d like to go back to do a bit more exploring at some point.

2017-03-25 11.03.05-1

Ruins of the Dungeness mansion, vacation home of the Carnegie family. It burned in 1959 and after the land was donated to the park service, has been allowed to return to nature (for the most part — there are some supports to keep the structure from falling on tourists).

4 thoughts on “Daybook: 3/27/2017

  1. The picture of the state park trail is gorgeous! Hey, we both were thankful for coffee this morning 🙂

    I never thought I’d love yoga pants, because I don’t practice yoga, but I use them as walking pants and now as my every day pants. They are so comfy! I don’t even care that I look like a whale in them 🙂

    1. Thanks — if you get a chance to visit, it was really a lovely trip.

      Coffee is my BFF. I am especially grateful for it when I am up and typing at 6:30AM! 🙂

      I am the same way about these sweat pants. They aren’t very flattering, but they’re that hipster lounge pant style that taper so they don’t flap everywhere. And they’re comfy! I love them.

  2. I’m so glad you had a lovely week off! Don’t worry about not commenting on blog posts, at all! That is a very interesting tree in the picture of the trail! I live in sweats when I am at home! At least when it is cooler weather. Hope easing back into regular activities goes smoothly for you.

    1. Thanks Bless! Cumberland Island had tons of amazingly beautiful and huge live oaks.

      I don’t know if I’m easing into anything, as these last three weeks of school are kind of nuts, but…I’m really glad the finish line is in sight. 🙂

Comments are closed.