What I Spent, What We Ate

What I Spent

File Mar 04, 4 20 15 PM

I spent $10.15 at Aldi this week for groceries. As you can see, we needed fruit and half and half plus I really wanted to get some asparagus. A neighbor gave us a lot of grapefruit so we have plenty of fruit in the house. I will probably head there this weekend for berries and dairy, but overall we are good on most things during this pantry challenge. Of the $100 produce/dairy budget I have for the month, I’ve spent $31.10.

What We Ate

Food_March4-10

Saturday: Lemony Greek Pasta Salad (lunch), Margherita Pizza

  • I was so pleased with this pizza! Also I successfully froze this dough a couple of weeks ago and two wonderful things happened: I remembered to use it AND I froze it in a plastic container instead of in a bag. I think the different container made it so much easier to use and also much less likely to get lost in the freezer. I will do that again for sure! The basil is from loeftover pho; they always give so much basil and cilantro along with the broth and meat and this time I brought home the extra (in addition to the extra soup — even the small is a huge portion). I was able to use the basil in several meals, although this was the last.

Sunday: Stir-Fry Noodles w/Asparagus, Mushrooms & Tofu

Monday: Cajun Red Beans and Rice

  • I used this recipe for the red beans and rice, but omitted the andouille sausage because I wanted to keep it vegetarian. This turned out really, really well!

Tuesday: Egg Roll in a Bowl

  • This may be a new favorite for us — it was really good and really yummy! I kind of did a mash-up of different recipes, but they are all pretty much the same, I think. If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend. Also it’s a great way to take advantage of the cheap cabbage that’s available now.

Wednesday: leftovers

Thursday: leftovers

Friday: Tilapia (not sure if we’re having Parmesan or Horseradish Crusted), Roasted Asparagus, Baked Potatoes

  • Or maybe I will do a Cajun spiced and pan fried thing with the fish. I’m not sure yet, but we’re definitely having fish as it’s thawed in the fridge. Don’t want it to go to waste!

 

8 thoughts on “What I Spent, What We Ate

  1. The pizza looks out of this world! Melted cheese and bready dough… I’m salivating. Oh my word. I’m going to have to look for the egg roll in a bowl recipe as I do have cabbage in the fridge, and also Publix has it on sale for $0.29/lb this week. I don’t think we’ll see it lower at Aldi although they sell theirs by the head, not the pound.

    1. Yes, the price on cabbage at Publix this week is really good! I bought two cabbages at Aldi earlier in the year when they were only $.79, so I’m not sure if I really need any more cabbage (but we do like it a lot). I hope you try out the egg roll in a bowl. It was so good!

  2. Your meals look delicious! Right now I have 3 heads of cabbage in the refrigerator, ready for St. Pats and whatever else I can do with it. It seems that every years about this time cabbage becomes my veggie of choice (or is that veggie of cheap/)

    1. Yep, for us, too! Last year I blanch a lot of cabbage and had it in the freezer to use for soups and stir-fries, which was nice. Not that it is ever really that expensive, though!

  3. You are doing very well with the grocery spending! We are 1/3 into the month and you’ve spent just under 1/3 of your budget! Well done! And lots of very yummy sounding (and looking) meals, too!

    1. Thanks Bless! It’s always about this time that things go sideways, so I’m trying to stay on top of spending and mostly avoid any good deals (since I don’t really have any room to store them, anyway!).

    1. Thank you so much! That is a very nice compliment, as that is exactly my goal. I really believe we eat with our eyes, first and while I don’t spend too much time fussing, I do like to think about how food looks as well as how it tastes. 🙂

Comments are closed.