Stir-Fried Noodles with Asparagus, Mushrooms, Tofu and Cashews

file-mar-05-7-19-23-pm

This recipe is from one of my favorite cookbooks, The Heart of the Plate by Mollie Katzen. I have really enjoyed every recipe that I’ve made from that book so far. It’s vegetarian (Katzen was the author of the original Moosewood Cookbook) and not rooted in any particular flavor profile–the recipes really are a collection of global flavors. This does mean that sometimes the ingredients are less common, but for the most part they can be found at a regular grocery store. This particular dish is a mash up of traditional sesame-based stir-fry sauces and the magic that is lemon and asparagus. It seems like it might not work, but it really, really does. If you are hesitant about using the lemon zest and juice in the marinade, I would say to just try it. For the most part you didn’t notice, but every so often you’d get a bit with some zest in it and all of the sudden the asparagus bloomed as well.

As usual, I changed a few things around with the recipe — I used soba noodles instead of linguine, as I had just made the Lemony Greek Pasta Salad and wasn’t eager for more white pasta. I also think that soba or udon noodles work so much better in noodle stir-fries, to be honest. They carry and add flavor. I don’t even know where you would buy 8 oz of tofu — all my stores sell it in 12 oz containers. Let me tell you about what would happen to 4 oz of tofu just hanging out in the fridge…science. That’s what. Anyway, I didn’t want to waste any tofu so just used the whole box. I also buy mushrooms by the box, not by each, so just went ahead and used a full pound. I adjusted the marinade to some extent, although I didn’t up the sugar quantity because I’m really trying to NOT eat as much sugar or the toasted sesame oil because I actually ran out! My pantry challenge is starting to have consequences…

Stir-Fried Noodles with Asparagus, Mushrooms, Tofu and Cashews

Serves 4 or 5 (generously), Vegan

  • 1 c. cashews, lightly toasted and salted
  • 8 scallions, minced, white and green parts separated
  • 1.5 T. minced or crushed garlic
  • 2 T, grated fresh ginger (heaping)
  • 3 T. soy sauce
  • 1 t. grated lemon zest
  • 1/4 c. fresh lemon juice (from one lemon)
  • 2 T. toasted sesame oil
  • 4.5 T. water
  • 3 T. brown sugar
  • 1 t. salt
  • 12 oz container of tofu, cut into 1/2 inch dice
  • 1 lb mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 lb asparagus, ends trimmed and cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 6 – 8 oz soba noodles OR 8 oz linguine
  • 2 T. canola oil
  • Crushed red pepper
  1. Place the cashews in a food processor and pulse until they are coarsely chopped. Set aside.
  2. Place the tofu and mushrooms in a 9X13 pan. In a small bowl, stir together the scallions, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, lemon zest, lemon juice, water, sesame oil and brown sugar. Pour over tofu and mushrooms, stir gently to ensure all sides are coated. Marinate for at least 15 minutes (and up to 2 hours). Stir occasionally.
  3. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of water to boil. Cook noodles according to package directions. When finished, rinse under water and then allow to drain thoroughly. Set aside.
  4. Place a large skillet over medium heat for about a minute, then add the canola oil and swirl to coat the pan. Turn up the heat to medium-high, toss in the asparagus and 1/4 t. of salt. Stir-fry until the asparagus is just tender, 5 – 7 minutes. Add the drained noodles and another 1/4 t. salt, mixing as best you can with tongs. Stir-fry over medium-high heat for about 3 minutes, or until noodles and asparagus entwine.
  5. Pour in the entire panful of marinade, tofu, and mushrooms. Turn to heat to high and stir-fry another 3 minutes, tossing in the ground cashews and a light touch of red pepper as you go. When the sauce and the cashews are well distributed and everything is heated through, taste and add salt as necessary.
  6. Serve immediately, topped with a scattering of the scallion greens.

NOTES:  

This can get a little smoky, so be aware if you have a sensitive smoke detector. I didn’t add any additional salt at the end, but I also didn’t measure the salt when I added it with the asparagus and the linguine, so YMMV.

I buy soba noodles at an Asian grocery near my home. They are sold in a 3lb package, and inside there are a lot of little bundles that weigh between 3 and 3.5 oz each. I used two bundles. The original recipe calls for a half pound of linguine or similar noodles.

The tofu doesn’t get crispy using this method. I don’t mind that at all, but if you are unsure of tofu because of the texture, this may not be the recipe for you. The flavor because of the marinade and then the stir-fry is incredible, though.

I hope you try it out if this sounds interesting. If you do, let me know — we really, really loved it and will make it again for sure.

******

This year I am joining The Frugal Girl in trying one new recipe each week. You can check them all out here.

9 thoughts on “Stir-Fried Noodles with Asparagus, Mushrooms, Tofu and Cashews

  1. I really enjoy your commentary about your recipes. From observations to advice, to encouragement… you should have your own cooking show on TV, Laura!

    1. Thanks Nathalie!! That is a really sweet compliment! I do love to cook, although I suspect watching me would take away from the experience! Haha.

  2. It both looks and sounds good. But, if I were to make it, I’d make a lot of changes as I don’t care for tofu or mushrooms! I might just make the noodles with a selection of vegetables and serve it as a side or add chicken or shrimp to it! But the marinade definitely sounds like something I might try.

    1. Haha Bless! I think it would be yummy with chicken or shrimp. Or even ground chicken or pork, actually, although you’d have to change the order of cooking, somewhat.

    1. Thanks Shara! I love the Moosewood Cookbook and also have a few others by Katzen. And I actually really like a lot of the other cookbooks by the Moosewood Collective. This challenge is really helping me return to my great collection of cookbooks!

  3. I’m also jumping on The Frugal Girl’s bandwagon and trying a new recipe each week. I appreciate your honest explanation of this recipe! I’m wondering if I can sneak tofu into a meal that my venison loving, hunting enthusiast husband won’t see…

    1. Yay, glad to see another person on the new recipe bandwagon! Have you enjoyed what you’ve made so far?

      If you try this recipe, I hope you like it! I think you could sub in meat for the tofu, although you couldn’t stir it in at the end as called for here. And I don’t think this would be a great place to hide tofu (it’s pretty obvious!), but I do think that mixing tofu into lasagna works really, really well. You can also whip tofu together with eggs to make a scramble or omelet as a starter dish. 🙂

Comments are closed.