Lemony Greek Pasta Salad

share

I’ve been watching a lot of YouTube videos lately, mostly cooking and grocery related. I’ve really been enjoying Indigo Nili’s channel and recently she posted a video where she made a Greek-style pasta salad. I’ve been craving something similar ever since, and since I always save the tops of peppers to use for another dish, I decided now was the time. I also had an open box of farfalle pasta in the pantry. I had hoped to add artichoke hearts as well as olives to the salad, but sadly my jar of hearts had disintegrated in the fridge, so who knows how long they’d been in there! I made a lemony dressing to toss everything in and that may actually be the star of the show.

Although this salad contains a lot of fresh ingredients, it also is making use of a number of pantry items, too. The pasta, chickpeas, salt, pepper, olives, olive oil, mint and oregano are all items that I store regularly.

Lemony Greek Pasta Salad

Serves 6

  • 8 oz farfalle pasta
  • 1 can chickpeas/garbanzo beans, drained
  • 3 mini cucumbers, diced (about 1 regular cucumber)
  • 1 c. diced red, yellow or orange bell peppers
  • 12 pitted Kalamata olives, halved
  • 1 large carrot, grated
  • 1/2 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 c. feta cheese, crumbled
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • Lemony Greek Dressing
  1. Cook pasta according to directions on package, drain and run under cold water.
  2. While pasta is cooking, prepare vegetables and combine with beans in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add pasta to the bowl along with feta cheese & lemon zest. Stir gently to combine.
  4. Pour half of the dressing over salad, mix to combine and add additional to taste. I choose to just drizzle fresh dressing on each serving.

NOTE: If you have fresh parsley, it would be really wonderful mixed in at the end. You could also stir in baked or roasted chicken breast.

Lemony Greek Dressing
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • 1/4 t. crushed, dried mint leaves
  • 1/2 t. kosher salt
  • 1/4 t. ground black pepper
  • 1/4 c. fresh lemon juice (about 1 lemon)
  • 1/2 c. olive oil
  1. Combine garlic, oregano, mint, salt, pepper and lemon juice in a small jar. Swirl to combine.
  2. Add olive oil, close lid tightly and shake until well combined. Use for salads, to marinate chicken or as a dressing for steamed vegetables.

NOTE: You can leave out the mint, but I think it makes the dressing. I strain the lemon juice before adding it to the jar so that there isn’t any pulp to contend with.

10 thoughts on “Lemony Greek Pasta Salad

  1. That looks delicious, light and would be so good in the summer with garden veggies! Thanks for the tip about the mint in the dressing-I would have been tempted to leave it out.

    1. Thanks! It is yummy, I think. If you aren’t a mint fan, you could mix the dressing up without it and then add to a part of the recipe. I really like it, though!

  2. It sounds delicious and refreshing. I don’t regularly stock red onion or feta cheese or I would make it for lunch! Maybe this summer.

    1. Thanks! I love to keep feta on hand — it has so much flavor and you only need a little bit. The red onion was a bit of a fluke, although I think I’m going to be more purposeful about keeping one or two on hand — they are really nice in salads.

Comments are closed.