What I Spent, What We Ate

retro-mom-money-images-graphics-fairy004
WHAT I SPENT

I spent at total of $119.81 on groceries during the past week. Primarily on two bulk purchases, one of which is attached to last month’s budget. Of the $100 toward dairy and produce that I am allocating for March, I have spent $19.55.

file-feb-25-11-53-57-pm

I spent $42.27 at Winn-Dixie for beef stew meat and smoked sausage. That purchase went to my February grocery budget, but the rest are all for March.

file-mar-02-9-24-31-pm

I spent $57.99 on Amazon for a 5lb container of chocolate whey protein. My husband is very specific about the brand and the flavor and Amazon has the best price. I also spent $6.40 at Publix for some strawberries and bulk cashews. And finally I spent $13.15 at Aldi on produce and dairy.

WHAT WE ATE

This week was somewhat atypical for us, with my parents being in town. We ate out a few times and combined with my school schedule, I didn’t end up doing a ton of cooking. We ate pretty well, none-the-less.

file-mar-02-9-27-18-pm

Saturday: NY Strip Steaks w/Mushroom Marsala Sauce, Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Buttery Green Beans. And cookies for dessert.

Sunday: We had a late lunch out with my parents; for dinner we finished some leftover meatball subs.

Monday: Leftovers again, although truly I have no memory of what either of us ate. Except I did buy myself a bag of cheese puffs and a diet dr. pepper on campus. 😦

Tuesday: We ate out with my parents at a Mexican restaurant they really enjoyed the last time they were here.

file-mar-02-9-23-52-pm

Wednesday: Capellini Pomodoro, Carrot and Cucumber Sticks

file-mar-02-9-28-11-pm

Thursday: We had leftovers for dinner, but I spent the morning before class doing some food prep, which included Oatmeal Molasses Bread. Homemade bread makes leftover soup taste that much better, we find.

Friday: Tonight we’ll have Chicken w/Peppers, Olives & Capers and Sun-Dried Tomato Quinoa.

13 thoughts on “What I Spent, What We Ate

  1. Diet Dr. Pepper addicts UNITE! 🙂 I love these posts, it’s so much fun to see what other families are eating and how much they’re spending on it. By the way, LOVE the name of your blog. I giggled and took a photo and sent it to my sister. I have the sense of humor of a 7th grade boy 🙂

  2. Greg is a Diet Dr. Pepper addict as well. I’m running very low, probably will run out of it before I go shopping again. I hope it’s on sale at CVS next week so I can get it for free with my CVS gift card. If not, I’ll have to use some of my SB gift cards to get it at Walmart. Ugh. I really wish he’d kick the habit but I got him started with the RaceTrac Sodapalooza promo last year, lol.

    Your oatmeal molasses bread looks scrumptious. Please send me a loaf, stat 🙂 I thought it looked familiar and when I clicked on the link, I realized that I had read Kristin’s post back when they posted it and thought “I need to make some of THAT!”. Sadly, I must abstain because right now I’d eat the whole loaf by myself.

    Great job on staying on track with your purchases and budget this week! Your Publix has a bulk nut section? Darn it, ours doesn’t. Still waiting for the BulkNation store to open in Clermont.

    1. I’m waffling on whether to just give in and buy a case or stick to just stopping for a fountain soda on my way to class. I think it may actually be cheaper in the long run to just get the fountain sodas, because class nights are the only time I drink soda, but if I had it in the house…I’d drink it all the time. Decisions, decisions.

      The oatmeal molasses bread is delicious. And we ate quite a bit of one loaf last night, but I think we’ll be able to control ourselves around the rest of it. I hope!

      It’s a pretty small bulk section, but it’s nice to have.

      1. I definitely wouldn’t be a money saver if you ended up drinking it all the time, that’s for sure, so you’d better stay away from the cases.

  3. Looks like you guys ate well this week! I am trying to figure out a way to buy bulk meat and then a system to remember to use it/meal plan with it 🙂

    1. Yes, that’s the tricky part, right?! I’ve found that buying what I know we like to eat (rather than just what is on sale) and then keeping a list or inventory of what I have on hand to be the best for making sure we eat up large purchases in a relatively timely manner. Of course, half the time the list is in my head and I convince myself that we really like certain things more than we do because the price is right, so… 😉

  4. You did well with your grocery shopping and the meals sound yummy. I think I’m going to give that bread a try. I’ll let you know if I do!

Comments are closed.