February Goals: Review

cupid-mailbox-image-graphicsfairy-red

It’s a little interesting to read these and realize what is just not a priority and also to see what I really have been getting done. I think I did moderately well on these goals, except the fitness goal, unfortunately.

2017 Goals: February 

The Compact:

  • Buy nothing new (except consumables).
    • We did buy a hose to replace part of a sprinkler and I also bought a bucket at the Dollar Store to help with cleaning. I feel like the hose is actually more like a replacement part and makes sense as a purchase, while with the bucket I weighed the likelihood of finding a bucket at the thrift store with the likelihood of me spending quite a bit more than $1 at the thrift store on other stuff just because.
    • I did not make a list of wants and needs to aid thrift store shopping.
    • I way overspent on my caveat item, ebooks/books, because of a great sale. So I’m going to try to NOT buy anything during March. 
  • Use it up, Wear it Out, Make it Do, Do Without
    • I did NOT continue to work on shoe care and maintenance; it ended up not being a priority.
    • Go around the house and make a list of simple repairs that need to be made and what, if anything is keeping that from happening. I have a list started but not completed. 

Everyday Goals:

  • Declutter for at least 15 minutes every day.
    • This seems to have completely fallen by the wayside. I still have boxes to take to Goodwill, but have made no real progress on additional decluttering.
  • Take a walk or somehow be active every day.
    • NOPE
  • Write every day.
    • I blogged almost every day. My line a day journal is pretty sporadic at this point.
  • Read a book each week (at least).
    • I read 12 books, only one of which was on my list. 
  • Engage in some form of political activism each week.
    • I have slowed down somewhat but am still reaching out to elected officials. 
    • I didn’t attend any gatherings or meetings though.

Financial:

  • Track all spending and stick to budget. YEP!
  • Bring in additional income to maximize saving and debt reduction.
    • This is just not really happening right now. Between school and work I am stretched a little too thin.
  • Be a better steward of our resources.
    • Deposit collected change into credit union account. I’ve been collecting it for a while; I’d like to do this annually. I also want this to kickstart us making better use of the credit union account. Ok, the credit union is not really convenient to me. Which is why I keep putting off this task.
    • Organize paper files. ONGOING

Ongoing Pantry Challenge:

  • Shop the pantry first. More or less.
  • Make an inventory of what is IN pantry and freezer. YES!! Yay me!
  • But stock up on what we run out of or has become necessary. Uh, yeah, think I managed that one a little TOO well.

Home

  • Touch up paint  on hall bath door and trim. Partially, still working on it.
  • Clean up backyard, plant raised beds. Nope, but got started on gardening tasks this past week, so will hopefully get to this task soon.

General

  • Mail Valentine’s day cards to nieces and nephews. Uh, I sent them emails. BAD AUNT.
  • Spend time each week nurturing creativity. Cooking was my major creative outlet this month.
  • Go on at least one trip to hike. I went out twice!
  • Prioritize schoolwork. YES!
2 thoughts on “February Goals: Review

  1. I often have the same conundrum when I find something at the thrift store and think maybe I could just get some equivalent at the Dollar Tree, or vice versa, but often the Dollar Tree items are very flimsy. Yet, in the case of the bucket, it might have been a long time before you found one at the thrift store. So I try to think of the gas involved too. The Dollar Tree is further away than the thrift store. Buying something at the thrift store supports a charitable organization. I don’t think there’s a perfect solution, but having the Compact as a loose guide, you can have those conversations with yourself and then feel better about whatever choice you make.

    I do keep a thrift store wishlist, which consists of items I’d like to have at some point but that I’m fine to wait to find. For instance a 1.5 qt Corningware casserole dish to replace the one that broke. Or a patio umbrella stand.

    I think you did well on your goals. You’re extremely busy so there’s no way you can accomplish everything. Congrats on going on 2 hikes! And you read TWELVE books?! I didn’t even manage to finish ONE. So, well done, my friend!

    1. Yes, this isn’t the highest quality bucket ever made, that’s for sure! In general I don’t mind waiting and taking the time to look for things to come up at the thrift store. But two different pans that I use to hold cleaning water had developed cracks in the bottom, so it was kind of a “need-it-now” situation.

      I really need to just write up my wish list. I’ve been putting it off because then I’ll want to go shopping and I think I’ll have a hard time not buying stuff, even if it’s not on the list. I’m working on developing discipline in increments. 😉

      In all fairness, several of my 12 books were category length romance novels which I can read very, very quickly. I haven’t been counting audiobooks, but maybe I should. Right now I’m re-listening to some favorites, which is why I didn’t think of it.

Comments are closed.