Looking Back: February Meal Plan & How We Did

retro-cooking-mom-graphicsfairy

At the beginning of February I posted a list of meals/recipes that were intended to guide my cooking for the month. Here’s how I did (w/notes so you can see 1. how I think and 2. how this works as a guide, not a plan).

Rice and Beans

  • Pintos, Greens, Cornbread
  • Black Beans and Rice  At the very beginning of the month.
  • Cajun Red Beans  At the very end of the month.
  • Mujadarrah

Soup or Stew

  • Potato & Kale Stew w/Corn Dumplings*
  • Rosemary White Bean Soup Kinda, sorta? I had rosemary white beans in the freezer and used them in a soup w/ham and kale. This was a prompt to make soup using my stash of white beans, and in that way it was a success.
  • Vegetable Beef Soup
  • Zuppa Toscana Kinda, sorta, again. Really when I write Zuppa Toscana, I mean some vaguely Italian soup or stew using Italian sausage, potatoes, beans and kale. No matter how many times I use “Zuppa Toscana” as my prompt, I don’t think I have ever actually made the mock-OG recipe. 

General Vegetarian

  • Tofu Spring Rolls*
  • Sweet Potato, Chickpea and Quinoa Burgers*
  • Pasta w/Chickpeas and Hominy
  • Fusilli w/Cauliflower, Tomato Sauce and Olives*
  • Tofu & Pepper Stir Fry  Ended up trying a new recipe here, for sweet and sour tofu.

Chicken

  • Oven Fajitas
  • Chicken Caesar Salad
  • Orzo w/Chicken, Feta and Lemon
  • Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos

Fish —No fish based dishes at all, for shame. lately I have just NOT been feeling a seafood vibe.

  • Parmesan Tilapia
  • Horseradish Tilapia
  • White Fish & Veggie Casserole
  • Tuna Noodle Casserole

Eggs/Breakfast

  • Pancakes and Sausage
  • Hashbrown Casserole
  • Ham & Veggie Quiche  Except when I made it I couldn’t find the ham, so it ended up being a bacon and veggie quiche. 
  • Breakfast Burritos (scrambled tofu, black beans)

Open

  • Pot roast Gah, turns out I don’t even have a beef roast in the freezer!
  • Beef empanadas (baked)
  • Korean beef lettuce wraps
  • Eggplant Lasagna (eggplant for noodles, tofu/ricotta) This made enough for one pan to be added to the freezer and used next month.

When I originally posted this list, I speculated that I would make about 1/2 – 2/3 of the items on the list. I ended up making 13 of 29 recipes, so not quite 1/2. I’m pleased with that, actually, as it’s not that I deviated from the list so much as we simply don’t need to cook every night, so a more accurate meal plan for us would probably only have 15-18 ideas. We also ate out a few times, either with my parents or at a friend’s home. The meals I made that were NOT on the original plan included Buffalo Chicken Pizza, Enchilada Casserole and Grilled Steaks w/Mushroom Marsala Sauce (when my parents were here). We also had several dishes made in January that carried over into this month.

Even though we didn’t make everything on the list, I really like this way of meal planning. I’m going to create a similar list for March, pulling heavily from the Pantry Meals and Freezer Meals lists I created after inventorying both of those storage spaces.

7 thoughts on “Looking Back: February Meal Plan & How We Did

  1. Good job, Laura! It sounds like that method of menu planning worked really well for you. Are you going to report the meals that you didn’t cook in February to March?

    1. I’ll probably pull some over to this month, but not all. With the weather changing a bit, I’m feeling like I want to make some slightly different meals. We’ll see!

    1. Yes, exactly. I have two kinds of plans — one that is just a spark to get me going and the other that is a detailed list of what needs to be done. My meal plans are ALWAYS the first kind. Except maybe for a dinner party. 😉

Comments are closed.