Beautiful Day!

file-feb-26-8-14-51-pm

We spent the day again with my parents and had wonderful, cool but sunny weather today to enjoy being outside. We had planned to drive up to Big and Little Talbot Island Parks, but unfortunately the boardwalk is closed and beach access is pretty restricted. We were planning to hike, not sunbathe, but the hike we would have taken winds along the shoreline. It’s a 45 minute drive, so we decided not to risk it and went to the Arboretum instead. Michael had never been there, so that was nice, too. We had lunch together and then my parents took off for a little beachfront stay; we’ll see them again on Tuesday before they head back north.

After we finished lunch, Michael and I came home and pretty much collapsed. He especially was beat from the work in the front yard while I was tired from a combination of yard work and school work. After a couple of hours watching college basketball and vegging out, I decided to go back to Lowes for more of the super cheap mulch. I also wanted to pick up some geraniums and other plants for the large containers we keep on the porch. I thought I’d be able to take some photos of my pretty plants, but the sun set rather quickly and it was dark by the time I got home. I’ll have to take photos once I’ve got the planters together.

I only had my phone with me and didn’t take a ton of photos at the arboretum, but I did get a few! The lake was especially pretty today.

file-feb-26-7-57-47-pm

There is a resident gator, but we’ve never seen any sign of it. The lily pads were undulating in the breeze and every so often we’d catch a glimpse of some fish.Β There were SO MANY people there today; the parking lot was full. This is great for the arboretum but not so great if you are hoping to catch sight of any wildlife. Oh well. Next time!

 

file-feb-26-8-14-13-pm

In this part of the arboretum especially, you could tell that there had been quite a bit of damage due to the hurricane last fall. Several really large old trees had unfortunately fallen during the storm. Since the goal of the arboretum is to conserve the natural habitat, for the most part the trees are left alone where they fell, except as the crossed hiking paths or presented a danger to visitors. We laughed about these tree stumps, though. We called it the hipster seating area. Coming soon to an Anthropolgie near you. πŸ˜‰

file-feb-26-7-58-53-pm

This side of the arboretum has a creek and small tributaries running through it; the other side is completely different. It is much drier and the undergrowth is much more dense. I didn’t get any pictures from that side today, as I kind of ran out of steam.

Now it’s back to studying and preparing for the coming week. Hope you all had a wonderful weekend.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Beautiful Day!

    1. It was really a lovely day; I enjoy hiking here and it’s nice that it’s right in the city. We had rain last week so I’ll let you keep that. πŸ™‚

  1. It sounds like you had a wonderful time with your folks! Your pictures are delightful, Laura. I laughed at the hipster seating area, hahaha.

    We were walking behind a hipster at Hillsborough River State Park yesterday, who bent down and got a big pocket knife, cut up a piece of saw palmetto and stuck it in his mouth. I wanted to say “hey buddy, if you’re trying to cure your prostate, it’s the BERRIES you’re supposed to eat!” Greg surmised he probably wouldn’t have know what a prostate was. Well, we get our fun where we can πŸ™‚

    I hope you have a great week and that you rest from all your yardwork!

    1. Gah, it drives me crazy when I see people breaking rules at parks. But lol on Greg’s comments. πŸ˜‰

  2. Looks like you had a great time outdoors! So glad you were able to take advantage of the great weather. We already have a plan for an outdoor adventure when the next nice day comes along! We just didn’t get motivated enough to take advantage this past weekend….

    1. Some weekends we are barely able to do much at all, just because we’re recovering from a long week. So when we do get stuff done like we did this weekend, I’m really proud of us! I hope your next adventure is a lot of fun!

    1. It’s beautiful and relatively close by. I appreciate having this wild places available to us in the middle of the city.

Comments are closed.