Busy, Busy

My parents are visiting, and as is usual when they are here, it’s been go-go-go! My sisters and I call them the “traveling work crew” because even when they say they are just here for a relaxing visit, we always end up doing some kind of project. Today they helped Michael and I straighten up our front garden beds and lay down new mulch. We took advantage of the 10 for $10 sale on mulch that Lowes has going right now and our front beds really look fantastic. We also picked up some lava rock to act as a barrier between the foundation and the mulch — something recommended by our pest/termite people that we have been meaning to do for a while.

While I was out picking up the mulch, I also stopped by Winn-Dixie for beef stew meat and smoked sausage. I now have four packs of beef smoked sausage and 12 pounds of beef stew meat in the freezer.I think my storage squirrel should be satisfied for a while, now.  I have really been craving beef stew, so at some point next month, that will be on the menu.

file-feb-25-11-53-57-pm

For dinner we had NY strip steaks with mushroom marsala sauce — really yummy. Garlic mashed potatoes and buttery green beans on the side. It was a nice meal.

file-feb-25-11-53-33-pm

Of course, I still had school work to do today and so part of my day was spent on the computer while everyone else was outside. I would have rather been outside. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Busy, Busy

  1. Look at all your food prep again! I really need to take a page from your book and do that too. I’m never in the mood to do that before stuffing everything in the freezer though.

    What is it with parents who come visit and want to do chores and projects? When I visit someone, that’s pretty much the last thing I want to do, hahaha. Greg’s parents used to do the same thing. When we moved into our house, they came down and my MIL unpacked my whole kitchen, put some shelf liner in the cabinets, and put everything away. I had a 6-month-old baby and 3 other small kids underfoot so I was trying to be grateful but I like things done MY WAY so I was actually annoyed. I redid everything after she left (well, I left the shelf liner on because we needed it and I was too lazy to redo it). My FIL used to fix our electrical problems, back in the day, though. That was nice.

    When my mom came to visit, I had to take the broom and cleaning cloths out of her hands. At home she cleans all the darn time, which is probably why I dislike doing that so much 🙂

    “Garlic mashed potatoes” and “buttery green beans” have me salivating right now at 10:15 a.m. I might need to put that on my menu for this week!

    1. I can completely relate wanting to have your kitchen set up your own way. My parents are not so into setting things up (they have known me way TOO long…I’m pretty particular and not shy about it, either), but they love to be active and help out, so I try to think ahead to something we can all do together. My sisters and I call them the “traveling work crew” because they have been so helpful with our projects. They helped us lay our hardwood floor. But we’re always a little embarrassed that we’re ready to stop long before them (they’re in their mid-late 70s)!!

  2. How lovely your parents can help you with projects! It probably makes them feel happy to do so. When my mother was alive, she lived with me and as long as she was well enough to do so, she ran my home for me! That’s a great price on the mulch, by the way.

    1. Yes, it’s definitely a blessing that they are so willing to help out. 🙂 I was pretty pleased with the mulch price, too. I ended up going back to get several more bags to use in the backyard as well.

Comments are closed.