Cheesecake

cheesecake-cropped

I’ve made cheesecake before. And actually I love the recipe I usually use; it is from my great aunt and I have a lot of good family memories associated with it. However, it is buried in one of my recipe boxes and I was in a bit of a hurry. I’ve never used the recipe in my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, so I thought I’d try it out. It was really, really good. The texture was fantastic. It originally didn’t have a sour cream topping, so I made my own right before serving. It really functioned more as an icing and provided a nice contrast to the denser cheesecake. I served macerated strawberries alongside, although it was lovely plain and I’m sure pretty much any other fruit would be really tasty, too.

Cheesecake Supreme

–from The Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook

  • 1 1/4 c. crushed graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 c. finely chopped walnuts (I omitted)
  • 1 T. sugar
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon (I omitted)
  • 1/2 c. butter (I only ended up using about 1/4 c.)
  • 3 8oz packages cream cheese (I used two Neufchatel and one regular)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 2 T. all-purpose flour
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 c. milk
  • 1/2 t. lemon zest (I used zest from a whole lemon)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. For crust, in a bowl combine crushed graham crackers, walnuts, the 1 T. sugar, and cinnamon. Stir in melted butter. Press the crumb mixture onto the bottom and up the sides of an 8 or 9 inch springform pan; set aside.
  2. For filling, in a large mixing bowl beat cream cheese, the 1 cup sugar, the flour, and vanilla with an electric mixer until combined. Beat in milk until smooth. Stir in eggs and, if desired, lemon peel.
  3. Pour filling into crust-lined pan. Place pan in shallow baking pan. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes for the 8-inch pan, 35-40 minutes for the 9-inch pan, or until a 2.5 inch area around the outside edge appears set when gently shaken.
  4. Cool in pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Using a small sharp knife, loosen the crust from pan sides; cool for 30 minutes. Remove sides of pan; cool cheesecake completely on rack. Cover and chill at least 4 hour before serving.

NOTES:

I didn’t use the walnuts or cinnamon in the crust, nor did I add extra graham crumbs to make up the difference. I prefer that the crust of a cheesecake be mostly on the bottom. I didn’t use as much butter either, and it was still plenty buttery and rich.

My cheesecake cracked, which is not a big deal, but then I decided I wanted to cover it up before serving it at bookclub. I also really like the tang that a sour cream topping adds and how it lightens up what is really a very rich dish. Since my cheesecake had already cooled by the time I made this decision, I decided to make more of an icing, I guess. I used about 1 cup of sour cream, powdered sugar and a little vanilla. Stirred until combined and then spread on top of the cheesecake. It never totally firmed up, but that was actually also a nice contrast, too.

I used the zest of a whole lemon rather than just 1/2 t. It gave the cheesecake wonderful flavor that contrasted really nicely with the strawberries that were served alongside.

*****

This year I am joining The Frugal Girl in trying one new recipe each week. You can check them all out here.

8 thoughts on “Cheesecake

  1. Sigh. I am on a diet (or trying to be) and you’re killing me. It’s 8:23 a.m. and I want cheesecake. Luckily for me, it’s pouring and I don’t have any cream cheese. I have several cheesecake recipes but I haven’t made it in a long time. Thanks for sharing, I think 🙂

    It looks wonderful, by the way. Did you mascerate your strawberries in alcohol?

    1. Thanks Nathalie! I only make cheesecake when there is going to be company as otherwise that’s a pretty dangerous game. 🙂 I just macerated them in sugar, but alcohol is a good idea!

  2. That is a beautiful cheesecake. I often mix sour cream with vanilla sugar for a cheesecake topping. If you put it on a still warm cheesecake and pop it in a 350 oven for a few minutes it sets. Not truly firm but firm to the touch on top

    1. Thanks!!

      That’s usually how I do it, too, but I had let it cool all the way so thought that might be risky this time. 🙂 I actually really liked it like this, too, which was a good find.

  3. Oh, yum! It looks beautiful! Cheesecake is one of my favorites! Your recipe sounds a lot like the one I use. I used to make them all the time, but haven’t made one in a long time, now. I no longer have my springform pan, either. If I make one now, it’ll have to be a cheesecake pie! 😀

Comments are closed.