Caesar Salad Dressing

file-feb-20-11-30-32-am

This is such a simple recipe for a really, really good Caesar dressing. I’ve always found the original recipe a bit fiddly and…I’m not really into the raw egg and anchovy paste thing necessarily. I like it when others make it, but not enough to want to do it myself. So when my sister shared with me this easy recipe, I was sold. Actually she made us chicken Caesar salads when I was visiting in December, the dressing was awesome and then she told me that she made it! So I had to have the recipe. I am not sure where the original is from, and I think she’s made a few adaptations to it as well.

This isn’t a dressing you can shake in a jar, because of the mayo and Parmesan, but it still whips up very quickly and tastes very much like the creamy Caesar dressings you find in restaurants.

Creamy Caesar Salad Dressing 

Makes about 1 cup

  • 1/4 c. mayonnaise
  • 1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 T. lemon juice
  • 1 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 T. Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  1. In a bowl, whisk together mayonnaise, Parmesan, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, mustard and garlic.
  2. When thoroughly combined, slowly whisk in olive oil until incorporated.

Notes: Freshly ground pepper is a good addition as well. I don’t really measure, just eyeball it, so if this is you, keep an eye on the oil as you add it as it can thin out the dressing pretty quickly. I wanted something reasonably pour-able, but you might like a thicker dressing. Just be aware. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Caesar Salad Dressing

  1. That sounds fantastic! I have made traditional caesar dressing many times, but I am not a fan of buying the anchovy paste since it is a one use item, but I do like the taste it gives the dressing. I am definitely going to give this version a whirl. (Well after Whole 30 is over)

    1. I hope you do! It’s really easy and since the Worcestershire has anchovy paste, I think it nicely subs in for the umami flavor.

    1. That’s my goal for the year, too. I have a few dressings in the pantry, but eventually I’d like to make them all from scratch. Except I do have a weakness for grocery store ranch!

  2. Sounds good, Laura! I’ll print the recipe and stick it in my “sauces” binder for the next time I wish we had Caesar dressing. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love Caesar dressing, but can’t buy it anymore because of allergies. Do you think this would taste semi okay without the Worcestershire?

    1. Hmmm…I’m not sure. It does add a nice depth of flavor. But I think maybe you could sub in Braggs Liquid Aminos, if you are able to do that. If you do sub in Braggs, I would start with less and taste to find your preference. Mostly it gives the dressing that umami depth that the anchovy paste would otherwise provide. You could maybe do a little mushroom or beef bouillon?

      As I think about it, the dressing would still taste good without the Worcestershire, it would just maybe not be quite so recognizably a Caesar dressing. Does that make sense?

Comments are closed.