Daybook: Monday, February 13, 2017

cupid-mailbox-image-graphicsfairy-red

Monday, February 13th

It’s the day before Valentine’s Day. I’m not one to go crazy for this holiday, but I do enjoy the clever cards and sending a little love out to my friends and family.

Outside my window…….it’s sunny and calm, my neighbors are walking their dogs.

I am thinking…….about the work I need to do this week, in particular the exam coming up on Thursday in one of my classes, my actual paid work and getting my house in order in time for bookclub on Friday (I’m hosting).

I am thankful for……coffee, good headphones and Prime music.

From the kitchen…..I have broth and some beef from the freezer thawing in the sink; I’ll be making a vegetable beef soup in the crockpot today.

I am wearing…..pjs, plus a long-sleeved t-shirt over top. It’s been chilly in the mornings lately, which I love.

I am creating…..a paper for my class this afternoon, a handmade Valentine for Michael and a little animated valentine for my nieces and nephews.

I am going…….to school later today.

I am reading……..Wired to Connect, by Amy Banks. I also should be getting Shrill, by Lindy West in the mail tomorrow. That’s this month’s bookclub selection, so I need to get cracking as soon as it is here!

I am hoping……that the exam on Thursday is not too painful.

I am hearing…..classical music through my headphones. I can just barely hear Michael on the phone and right now the cats are blessedly silent.

Around the house…….I’m going to be working on tidying up the bedrooms and doing some laundry.

One of my favorite things……is The Graphics Fairy website, where I get most of my vintage clip art.

A few plans for the rest of the week…..have the house totally sparkling by Friday evening, read the bookclub book, study for my upcoming exam, finish the paper for my class, start a running/jogging program.

Here is a picture I am sharing…….

retro-cat-valentine-graphicsfairy

Nathalie posted a very cute cat-themed Valentine. I thought I’d do the same. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Daybook: Monday, February 13, 2017

  1. Happy Day before Valentine’s! I can’t believe I never knew about the Graphics Fairy. I think an hour or so of my evening will be spent looking at all those graphics!!

  2. I love it the Valentine! We don’t go overboard with it either over here. In France, Valentine’s Day is strictly for lovers, not kids, etc so it never was a big deal for me. I will give them each (and Greg) a small heart-shaped box of chocolates from Dollar Tree tomorrow morning. My daughter is a Trader Joe’s in Gainesville right now getting me a box of my favorite dark chocolate covered ginger that we’ll pretend Greg bought for me for V-day, lol.

    Good luck with your paper and your exam! And you have to finish the book AND clean your house by Friday too?!

    1. I love retro Valentines, but I really am not so into the holiday per se. Oh well, being a curmudgeon generally serves me in a frugal way. 🙂

      I also love dark chocolate covered ginger — such a yummy treat!

      I am trying to avoid thinking too hard about my to-do list for the week!!

  3. Happy Valentine’s Day to you and thank you for posting the link to Graphics Fairy. It looks like something want to explore when I have time to really look at it!

    1. I hope you like the site — she posts a number of project ideas and so on. I mostly just like to find old-school images that are out of copyright, but I if I were more motivated, I think I would definitely try out some of the projects!

  4. Happy Valentine’s Day. Loved the cute picture! Hope you get all your studying done! You can clean the house after the test is over.

    1. Thanks Bless! Today I’m enjoying the day after Valentine’s day — specifically the fact that chocolate is reduced in price at many retailers. 🙂

Comments are closed.