Sweet & Sour Tofu

file-feb-08-5-18-41-pm

I had been planning to make my usual tofu and pepper stir-fry this week, but then I came across recipes for sweet and sour chicken twice as I was getting ready to cook. And suddenly I wanted a sweet and sour sauce, not a spicy soy based sauce after all. This recipe was really good, but I don’t know that it will become a regular. Sweet and sour isn’t something I crave all that often. I omitted the pineapple called for in the recipe since I didn’t have the right cut on hand. Instead I just used some canned pineapple juice and extra bell peppers. I think the flavor would have been more pronounced if I had been able to include the pineapple chunks. And a green bell pepper would have added a nice touch as well; I only had tri-color peppers. We served this over a very simple fried rice.

This year I am committing to trying out at least one new recipe every week, inspired by Frugal Girl. This is my sixth new recipe, so far I have made:

  • Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese
  • African Tomato Peanut Soup
  • Blueberry Oatmeal Bread
  • Hearty Brown Lentil Soup
  • Vegetable Beef Soup w/Barley

We like soup. Can you tell?! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Sweet & Sour Tofu

  1. This looks really good. I think I could monkey around with the recipe to make it whole 30 compliant. It would be a great change of pace since I seem to be in a rut.

    1. I bet you could, too. There isn’t that much actual sugar in it and I know there are tons of substitutes for the other ingredients, too. Let me know if you do!

Comments are closed.