Weekly and Daily Routines

silhouettecleaningvintageimagegraphicsfairy3

Two different list keepers inspired this post; Nathalie and Shara. These are my daily and weekly cleaning routines.ย I should note that almost ALL of this is aspirational, and that we rarely make it through any one list completely. But having the lists reminds me of what to pick up on the next week if I missed it last week and so on. I also have a list of chores for each area of the house that need to be done on a monthly basis and I work that into the weekly list, but it rotates. And of course these don’t include the tasks that are involved in our work or school. Anyway. Each day this week I’ll post what it is we try to do around here.

Morning Chores

  • feed cats
  • cat litter
  • dishes away
  • coffee
  • make bed
  • swish and swipe
  • laundry
    • wash
    • dry

Afternoon Chores

  • feed cats
  • cat litter
  • check mail
  • tidy kitchen
    • dishwasher
    • dishes
    • counters/stove/table
    • floor
    • sink
  • laundry
    • away
    • sort
  • ten minute blitz
  • 15 minute decluttering

Monday Chores: Bedrooms

This is split between two days, actually, one now and one later in the week.

  • clear dressers
  • tidy closet/drawers
  • de-fur bedskirt
  • change towel on chair (we have an armchair in the bedroom and I keep an old towel on the seat to reduce cat hair accumulation)
  • change sheets
  • dust furniture
  • dust fan
  • clean glass (furn/art)
  • wipe down hampers
  • mop or vacuum
  • rotating task
    • wash windows and blinds
    • wipe down walls/baseboards
    • wash mattress cover
    • wipe down doors and switches

 

9 thoughts on “Weekly and Daily Routines

  1. There are days when I never get all mine accomplished either. However, I think the biggest thing I’ve noticed is that I do get more done on days when I put that list out. Something about it staring at me motivates me. Of course, I’m one of those weird people who likes to mark things off my to do list. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Me too! A lot of times I’d be perfectly happy not to do anything, but the second I post my “To Do List”, when I start actually doing stuff. It’s not glamorous and I kind of feel guilty that I need the reminder to “clean the litter box” but I’m very forgetful and I get distracted by the internet way too easily.

      Your list looks good, Laura! I hope it helps you as much as mine helps me! I like how organized yours is. Mine is a mess but oh well, it fits my personality, lol.

      1. Mine is organized only because it pertains to one single category of things that need to be done. ๐Ÿ™‚ But thanks!

    2. I like to mark things of my lists, too! And having a record of having done it makes me happy. Thanks for the motivation to do this!

  2. I never get everything accomplished, but I have good intentions. However, I guess we all know what road is paved with those!

  3. Excellent list! If I can get just half of that accomplished, my house will be sparkling! I haven’t been posting any to do lists, recently, because I’ve not been able to get anything done! I’m in a bit of a slump, right now.

    1. Well, like I said, these lists are mostly aspirational (this week especially!), but they are a good reminder of what needs to be done…eventually! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments are closed.