February Meal Plan

retro-cooking-mom-graphicsfairy

I don’t like to traditionally meal plan. And even when I make lists of recipes (like I am today), I tend to deviate. But as I make a concerted effort to improve our diet AND work on doing a better job of integrating my school schedule with the rest of my life, I’m giving it another shot.

I’ve broken each week down into several categories, no assigned nights, but general categories that fit with our health needs and taste buds. I’ve seen some folks do a Mexican night, Italian night, and so on. Mine is both broader and narrower in some ways, as follows:

  • Rice and beans
  • Soup or stew
  • General vegetarian
  • Chicken/Turkey
  • Fish
  • Eggs/Breakfast
  • Open

It’s more than likely that I won’t get to all categories each week. But it’s a helpful framework to start from I think. I’m also trying a new recipe each week, which could fall in any category. In the lists below, they’re marked with an asterisk. I’ve also underlined pasta/noodle dishes to make sure I don’t overload on them.

Rice and Beans

  • Pintos, Greens, Cornbread
  • Black Beans and Rice
  • Cajun Red Beans
  • Mujadarrah

Soup or Stew

  • Potato & Kale Stew w/Corn Dumplings*
  • Rosemary White Bean Soup
  • Vegetable Beef Soup
  • Zuppa Toscana

General Vegetarian

  • Tofu Spring Rolls*
  • Sweet Potato, Chickpea and Quinoa Burgers*
  • Pasta w/Chickpeas and Hominy
  • Fusilli w/Cauliflower, Tomato Sauce and Olives*
  • Tofu & Pepper Stir Fry

Chicken

  • Oven Fajitas
  • Chicken Caesar Salad
  • Orzo w/Chicken, Feta and Lemon
  • Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos

Fish

  • Parmesan Tilapia
  • Horseradish Tilapia
  • White Fish & Veggie Casserole
  • Tuna Noodle Casserole

Eggs/Breakfast

  • Pancakes and Sausage
  • Hashbrown Casserole
  • Ham & Veggie Quiche
  • Breakfast Burritos (scrambled tofu, black beans)

Open

  • Pot roast
  • Beef empanadas (baked)
  • Korean beef lettuce wraps
  • Eggplant Lasagna (eggplant for noodles, tofu/ricotta)

I’m posting this list on the 3rd and there are more recipes on the list than days in the month. So even assuming I cooked everyday, I would not be able to make everything on the list. It’s safe to say that for just the two of us, I will probably (realistically) make about 1/2 – 2/3 of these recipes. But that’s ok! Just writing them out helps me think of what I have on hand and what I need to use up, as well as recipes I’ve been longing for but just forget about when I’m down to the wire and have to get cooking.

4 thoughts on “February Meal Plan

  1. I like this way of meal planning! I might have to try it as well. I struggle with more strict meal planning because things come up-I think this will allow for more flexibility, but also provide the preparedness to be able to cook at home.

  2. It is a good way to meal plan, I think. I like the flexibility of it. I find it hard to make a detailed meal plan and stick to it. I tend to make one or two main dishes and have them throughout the week. Then I get tired of eating the same thing!

    1. Yes, it’s a bit of a juggle, for us, too, figuring out how much to cook. Lots of variety and we’re often left with too many bits and pieces that turn to waste. Too little variety and we get bored fast!

Comments are closed.