February Grocery Shopping Goals

vintage-groceries-sign-image-graphicsfairy

I don’t usually do these posts, but since my budget is quite a bit different than it was last year, I’m going to make an effort to post something like this each month. Once I complete the pantry and freezer inventory, these lists and those documents will work really well together.

I’ve maybe alluded to this in previous posts, but this past fall has been a bit challenging in the health department for my husband. We just today were at the hospital really early so he could have a cardiac catheterization. I’m relieved to say that his heart is very healthy and normal, but this means, too, that we still haven’t quite pinned down what exactly is wrong. I’m tired today, because of the early morning, but I’m generally tired of this process (he is too) and look forward to having more concrete answers, whenever that might be. At any rate, this is relevant because I’ve been taking a hard look at how we eat and challenging myself to increase the healthfulness of our diet. Frankly, I think that we do eat fairly healthfully. But there is always room for improvement.

My grocery goals reflect that turn toward better health and acknowledge that for me to not blow our eating out budget on over-priced campus vendors, some pre-packaged convenience items are in order. I will continue to focus mostly on fresh produce and other whole foods for out main diet. I’m going to make a concerted effort to have meatless meals 4 times/week and for the three other meals I think it will be chicken, fish, and a very lean red meat or leftovers (most of the time, still occasional treats).  We also have plenty of whole grains in the pantry to use up, and I am working on eating up the white rice as I think we are going to switch full-time to brown rice. That will simplify a lot of things, too! We’re still eating dairy, just less cheese and more skim milk, cottage cheese and yogurt. And we’ll still eat whole eggs, but probably go back to adding whites in for a protein boost.

BJS

  • Starbucks coffee beans (we didn’t love the house brand)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Feta cheese
  • Organic salad greens
  • Dried plums
  • Boneless skinless chicken breast
  • Egg whites (compare price to Aldi)

General

  • Dried chickpeas
  • Frozen corn
  • Frozen peas
  • Flour tortillas (to make freezer burritos)
  • Tofu
  • Mushrooms
  • Granola bars or peanut butter crackers

What are your grocery goals this month?

2 thoughts on “February Grocery Shopping Goals

  1. I hope your husband’s health issue questions will be resolved very soon, but I’m sure it must be a relief to know his heart is healthy. In any case, eating a more healthy diet can only be a good thing.

    I don’t have very specific grocery goals as such. My budget will continue to be $75 for the month (for food, only), plus the $20 left over from January’s grocery budget. I will continue to eat from the freezer and pantry, but there will be some purchases made since I am low on a few things. I, too, would like to eat a healthier diet, so I shall look to incorporate more vegetables, less refined foods, etc.

    1. Thank you, Bless. We are definitely both relieved that he has so far demonstrated very healthy lungs and a very healthy heart, which seems to exclude a lot of the bigger questions.

      I am always so impressed with your grocery shopping and ability to stick to your budget. I look forward to seeing what you make this year!

Comments are closed.