Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese

file-feb-02-12-40-55-pm

I’ve been reading about butternut squash mac & cheese for a while now; it seems like it took off right around the time that butternut squash lasagna became popular. I’ve never made it before this week, even though the flavors are right up my alley. Mostly because I try to avoid making mac & cheese or lasagna too often for the sake of our coronary arteries (they’re busy with the other junk we consume…). Anyway, I didn’t follow any recipe exactly, but my final process probably most resembles the recipe from The Pioneer Woman. Except I would venture that my version is somewhat healthier.

My modifications:

  • 8 oz elbow noodles
  • 1 large onion
  • skim milk
  • 4 T butter or oil (2 for the onions, 2 for the white sauce)
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar
  • 1/3 c. grated Parmesan
  • I added dry mustard, paprika and black pepper to my white sauce. Also a little garlic powder.
  • whole wheat bread crumbs
  • Also, I roasted 2 large squash and used about 2 cups of that. I didn’t keep track of whether or not it was equivalent to 1/2 a squash

This was delicious. I highly recommend trying something like this out if you haven’t yet (and if you like squash). It doesn’t taste like regular mac & cheese, but it still hits all the rich and creamy notes of a classic comfort food.

We had garlicky kale on the side and hot sauce on top, if desired.

5 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Mac & Cheese

Comments are closed.