African Tomato Peanut Soup

file-jan-19-11-27-08-pm

Hello! It’s been busy around here. My new recipe for this week is African Tomato Peanut Soup. I’ve eaten a variation on this soup at a local coffee shop and wanted to make it at home. This recipe is not really like the soup I’d eat out, but it is very delicious in and of itself. I will definitely make it again. The original recipe is from Vegetarian Planet by Didi Emmons. I used to cook from this cookbook quite a lot, but haven’t recently as we aren’t exclusively vegetarian (and haven’t been for a while). I think I will make it a point to go back to this book again, though! I did make some tweaks based on what I had on hand and what I remembered the coffee shop soup including. The recipe below reflects my additions and changes.

African Tomato Peanut Soup

  • 1 T. canola oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 t. fresh ginger
  • 2 t. ground cumin
  • 1/2 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1 pinch ground cloves
  • 2 14 oz. cans diced tomatoes
  • 4 large sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 3.5 cups cooked black beans
  • 4 – 6 cups of water (I used a combination of bean broth [bean cooking water] and water and added to a consistency that pleased me, probably about 4.5 cups)
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 pinch cayenne
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. chopped dry-roasted peanuts, with additional for garnish, if desired
  • 3 T. creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 c. PB Fit (or other defatted peanut butter powder)
  • chopped cilantro
  1. In a large saucepan or small stockpot, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion, and cook, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes or until the onion browns around the edges. Add the garlic, ginger, and spices and cook for 3 more minutes, stirring often. Add the tomatoes, sweet potatoes, and carrots and cook for 5 minutes.
  2. Add the black beans, water and salt. Bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce the heat, cover the pot, and simmer for 30 minutes.
  3. Using a blender or immersion blender, puree the soup until mostly but not totally smooth. Taste and add the cayenne if you like. Add the peanuts, the peanut butter and PB Fit. Whisk until the peanut butter is fully incorporated.
  4. To serve, reheat the soup and ladle into bowls. Top with chopped cilantro and additional chopped peanuts

This will serve between 10 -12 people. The original recipe served 6, but I wanted to use up my sweet potatoes plus add black beans, so the resulting recipe makes a much larger batch.

Michael and I both loved it and it’s really quite healthy, even with all that peanut butter. This is my fourth new recipe of the year; I am joining the Frugal Girl in trying one new recipe each week in 2017.

10 thoughts on “African Tomato Peanut Soup

  1. It’s very pretty!

    I’ll have to pass because of the peanuts, but I do like tomato soup. I have some home canned so I may look for a recipe for tomato soup. Thanks for the inspiration.

    1. I love homemade tomato soup, too. In fact, the cookbook I mentioned has a really great recipe that is what I base mine on.

  2. Hmm, that sounds good! A couple of questions: what size of canned tomatoes (the 15 oz or 29 oz?) and did you really mean “bean broth” or should it have been “beef broth”. I don’t think I’ve ever seen bean broth but maybe it’s a vegetarian thing. Well, I guess it might be a vegetarian thing since you said it was a vegetarian cookbook 🙂

    1. Haha, I’ll update the can size, thanks for the reminder. It’s the 14 oz cans. And the bean broth is just the broth I have left from making the beans; if you used canned beans you could choose not to drain them.

  3. Good for you for committing to try a new recipe each week. Life gets monotonous if we don’t shake it up now and then. I have made a variation of this on several occasions and we love it!

    1. I’ve made different version of this soup, too, but not in a while and not using this recipe. I’m excited that it turned out so well, as I think I’ve lost the other recipe I had. 🙂

  4. This reminds me a bit of a stew my Nigerian roommate used to make with peanut butter. I admire you trying out new recipes; I tend to stick to the same tried and true ones!

    1. I’m kind of half and half — I like to make things that I know we enjoy and am comfortable preparing, but I also like to try new things and especially recreate the flavors of cuisines that I more often would have to eat at a restaurant.

Comments are closed.