Happy New Year!

vintage-january-image-graphicsfairy

Happy New Year!

I am looking forward to a fulfilling 2017 and I hope that you are as well. I’ve posted quite a few blogs about my goals for the coming year and I’m excited to get started on them. Today I am hiking with a friend and later on Michael and I will have pork and sauerkraut for a traditional New Year’s meal. I’m not sure that it brings good luck, but it’s definitely tasty.

Today is my first official day following The Compact, where I buy nothing new (except consumables). Truly I need nothing, except books for my classes this semester — which I just remembered, although I can probably find most of those used. But I have still been making out a list of things to buy — not mindless purchases, but products we need to complete projects or to help current belongings last a bit longer. I can’t decide if this is me taking a consumer attitude toward make do and mend or if this is realistically just part of responsible ownership. I need to remember that it’s highly unlikely that we’ll complete ALL our projects this month anyway, and that pacing ourselves throughout the year is much more reasonable.

6 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I think that listing what you plan to purchase this year is a smart idea. You keep those purchases front of mind, so you’ll be less tempted to buy other things, and you can keep an eye out at thrift stores and when surfing CL and FB. It’s not reflective of an over-consumer attitude, I think it’s just plain smart. Make sure to keep that list on your phone or in Google Drive (or equivalent) and share it with Michael, that way you both have access to it at any time so if you’re in Pennsylvania and come across a yard sale, you know what you need ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy New Year and enjoy your pork and sauekraut! I’m making black-eyed peas in the electric pressure cooker tonight, the first time I actually use it, and I’m terrified. Hopefully I’ll still be here tomorrow and not blown up to smithereens ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, I suppose I might need a back-up plan if somehow I screw it up. Hmmm. Omelets it is!

    1. Good luck with the pressure cooker! I have one that my aunt handed down to me and I would like to learn how to use it this year, too.

      I think for my list I’m also going to add the information re:need/want/purpose. I think that will help me pause before purchasing. Good idea to keep it on the phone!

  2. We do the traditional meal also, but ours is pork, black eyed peas, collards and cornbread. It might not bring any luck, but we like the meal anyway and why tempt fate?
    Have a wonderful year. I look forward to seeing how well you do with your compact (ish)

    1. I’ve done black eyed peas, greens and cornbread in previous years. I don’t love black eyed peas, unfortunately, or otherwise that would be my ideal meal! Pork, sauerkraut and potatoes are the PA Dutch new year meal and it was funny to talk to my family today — I think with the exception of one person, all were making some version of this meal. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for hanging out with me in this space, Anne! I hope you have a wonderful year as well.

Comments are closed.