Groceries: Aldi

This is the catch-up post. These are groceries I bought yesterday and that brings us up to scratch. It was weird to be posting a little bit retro-actively. Anyway. This trip involved a lot of…not quite impulse buying but also not terribly focused shopping, either. I was running late after a day spent on campus and had forgotten both my list and my grocery bags. Again just a trip to Aldi this week and I’m still picking up some canned goods for the pantry, as you’ll see.

Right now I don’t have an exact grocery budget, but am keeping track of grocery and related spending to set a more accurate budget starting in the new year.

dairy-10_22_16

Dairy

  • Apple cider, 1 gal @ $2.99
  • Feta crumbles, 4oz @ $1.79
  • Sharp cheddar, 2 8oz blocks @ $1.89/ea
  • Pineapple greek yogurt, 6 6oz cups @ $.65/ea

All the cider from the last shopping trip is in the freezer so I wanted a little more for drinking right now. It’s so good. I had no cheese last week at one point, so grabbed a couple of blocks of cheddar. And feta because I keep thinking of dishes I’d like to make that would taste great with a little feta and I didn’t have any on hand. Yogurt for Michael.

pantry-10_22_16

Pantry

  • Fake Cheez-Its, 1 box @ $1.59
  • Tuna, 4 cans @ $.99/ea
  • Dried mango, 1 bag @ $3.79
  • Salted cashews, 1 bag @ $4.69
  • Macadamia nuts, 1 bag @ $7.99
  • Pinto beans, 4 cans @ $.79/ea
  • Egg noodles, 1 bag @ $1.29
  • Sandwich bread, 1 loaf @ $3.99

Lots of snacks! I was hungry after being on campus for such a long time and the cashews and mango reflect that. They are pretty yummy. Although I could handle less salt on the cashews. I like nuts to be salted but very very lightly. That’s hard to find. The macadamia nuts are because I want to make double chocolate chip/macadamia nut cookies over the holidays and because the bags have been taunting me for the last couple weeks with their “seasonal item” tags. Hopefully they are good. The bread is organic and I hope tasty. The egg noodles; I bought some a couple of weeks ago for stroganoff and dropped the bag, which burst. Only a few noodles were lost, but one of my cats decided that dry noodles are her new favorite thing and every time I had my back turned she was trying to get in the pantry. I had re-bagged them and thought the ziploc would be sturdier than the previous packaging. I think it was but maybe she could still smell them. At any rate, I had to eventually throw out the whole bag. Because she has figured out how to open the pantry doors. ARGH. Anyway, I may want to make mushroom stroganoff again. This time I’ve been careful to not break the bag and I’ve also hidden it. I probably need to get some childproof locks, actually. I’ve realized that once they know how to open doors, not being “allowed” to do so is hardly a deterrent for a cat. Anyway. The tuna and beans are for the ready-to-eat part of my pantry supplies.

produce-10_22_16

Produce

  • Spinach, 8oz @ $1.79/ea
  • Organic salad greens, 1 box @ $3.79
  • Broccoli crowns, 1 pk @ $1.79
  • Mushrooms 2 80z boxes @ $.49/ea
  • Bananas, 1.77lb @ $.44/lb
  • Gala apples, 3lb bag @ $1.69
  • Pink Lady apples, 3lb bag @ $3.29

Not Pictured

  • Toilet paper, 12 rolls @ $5.49
  • Three paper bags @ $.06/ea

Apples! I love apple season. I do wish we weren’t quite so far away from apple orchards as I do think that the closer you live to the place where a fruit or vegetable is grown, the more likely you are to have a higher quality of that fruit or vegetable available. But. These all looked really good, so I grabbed two bags. Lots of greens because suddenly I am in the mood for salads. Bananas, finally. More mushrooms. Broccoli because it’s my favorite. And I decided to try the eco brand of toilet paper that Aldi had as a special buy. It’d be lovely if they carried it all the time but I don’t really understand exactly how they decide what becomes a standard item after they test it this way. Also, since I forgot my bags I ended up buying some paper bags. I don’t love packing things in boxes and honestly forgot to look for any as I was shopping, so my tax for forgetfulness was $.18. I do like paper bags, though, as they are good for holding my paper recycling and/or I use the paper to wrap boxes.

My total this week is $64.69 and that brings my monthly total to $262.13. Next weekend I need to purchase Halloween candy and I want to take the Halloween snack mix that Anne posted into work this week, so I’ll need to pick up those ingredients as well. I did purchase some non-grocery household items as well this month, but I’ll write about them in a separate post.

 

8 thoughts on “Groceries: Aldi

  1. Your groceries look very familiar to me. I used to go to Aldi once a month unless they had stellar deals. Now I find I shop there first and fill in with other stores ads. (Though I am very loyal to Piggly Wiggly’s meat department, mainly because they still maintain a true butcher shop.
    I am like you about nuts. We like them salted but just slightly salted. Sprouts has roasted salted and unsalted nuts in their bulk bins so I buy 1/3 salted to 2/3 unsalted and mix them. It seems to be the perfect amount of salt for us.

    1. I’ve been thinking about hitting up Native Sun or Whole Foods and doing something similar with bulk nuts. I wish we had a store with a true butcher here! I think I’ve only been in a Piggly Wiggly once, during a trip to AL, of course. πŸ™‚

  2. Looks like you are doing really well with your grocery shopping. It will be interesting to see where you will set your new budget once you decide on it and how you determine it.

  3. Your cat figured out how to open the pantry door?! Oh no!

    I have had to put our bags of cat food in a large Rubbermaid bin that locks because the cats, despite being very-well fed, had sharp enough teeth to tear through the almost indestructible plastic of the Royal Canin bags! They don’t seem to show much interest in human food though. The kittens, on the other hand… I could see them chewing on everything in my pantry. I’m getting heart palpitations just thinking about it πŸ™‚

    I wonder if what she likes best was to chew on the hard, crunchy plastic of the bag? Male Cat will go in my desk-side trash can to retrieve plastic wrappers that are “crunchy” so he can chew on them. It’s the weirdest thing. Thankfully I can usually hear him from the other room and just yelling his name will get him to stop.

    1. Oh yes, our cats will destroy cat food bags if they’re available. We keep them in the garage until we can empty them into the cat food container.

      She might like the plastic, but we do have two cats obsessed with plastic and they’re not her. Since she kept trying to crunch on the noodles I think they really were what she was aiming for. Your cats seem to be much more compliant than mine; a yell doesn’t do much for them. πŸ˜‰

  4. I love the idea of separating out purchases like this, but I never seem to get a photo if I don’t grab it quickly. (My cats come running when I open the pantry door because their treats and food are stored in there. I gave up and put it all in plastic tubs to keep them from opening bags.)

    1. Ha, we had to move our cat food from the pantry because they were just endlessly pestering to get in there. Plus we have a lot of cat food that was taking up valuable human food space! πŸ™‚ It’s kept in a separate closet now and even though they sometimes try to get in there, too, it doesn’t bother me as much because there really isn’t anything else in that closet.

Comments are closed.