Daybook: October 18, 2016

Tuesday, October 18th

vintage-clip-art-vcatniptricolorbfly1

Outside my window…….the sun is shining and it is a beautiful afternoon!

I am thinking…….about a few things I’d like to get done around the house and the homework I need to complete as well.

I am thankful for……a very flexible work schedule.

From the kitchen…..a just popped some popcorn in the microwave popper I bought at Aldi last week. It was the first time I’d used it and I think it will become my favorite way to make popcorn. I’m not crazy about heating up plastic but it’s less messy than stovetop popcorn, less irritating and has better yields than my air popper and tastes so much better than commercial microwave popcorn. I’m also making ham and bean soup for dinner using a ham bone from last weekend and some soaked white beans. If I have time I may make a batch of pumpkin spice cookies.

I am wearing…..denim shorts and a nice t-shirt. My job has a pretty casual dress code.

I am creating…..not much right now, although I have been planning out Christmas gifts.

I am going…….to a conference related to my degree later this week. It’s free for students and I’m really excited about it!

I am reading……..The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern.

I am hoping……to get all my homework finished at a reasonable time this evening.

I am hearing…..my cats bother each other and ice being made in the fridge.

Around the house…….I’m gradually putting into place some routines that I think will work for me. I’m doing the whole Fly Lady thing again, but with a lot less pressure on myself to do it all right away. I think (hope) it will be more sustainable this way.

One of my favorite things……popcorn with a little butter and salt.

A few plans for the rest of the week…..classes, a conference on girl-centered therapy, maybe some hiking this weekend?

Here is a picture I am sharing…….I gave blood last week and they were giving out t-shirts as part of a Halloween promo. They have this very cool skull on the front.

oneblood_halloween-dc-promo-lp

8 thoughts on “Daybook: October 18, 2016

  1. I LOVED “The Night Circus”! I want to read it again. I read it back in 2011 and I almost didn’t pick it up because I don’t like anything about circuses. The beginning of the review that I wrote for myself was “This book was… perfection. A jewel of a story told masterfully and poetically.” Oh yes, I want to read it again.

    Take pictures if you go hiking!

    1. It is a great book! I bought it not long after it first came out but then never finished it. We were to read it for this month’s book club, and while I managed to get further into it than previously, I didn’t finish it in time for the meeting. But it’s so lovely I know I will finish it soon.

Comments are closed.