Autumn Joy List

cute-critter-image-graphicsfairy

A joy list for now through Thanksgiving. I’ll post another list for the Christmas holiday season.

  1. Decorate main living areas and entry way for fall/Halloween
  2. Carve a pumpkin
  3. Make mulled cider
  4. Bake pumpkin bread
  5. Bake pumpkin spice cookies
  6. Bake an apple pie
  7. Wish my parents a Happy Anniversary!
  8. Take a trip up north and do a little hiking
  9. Invite friends over a couple of times between now and Thanksgiving
  10. Work on quilts for my nieces and nephews
  11. Light candles every day
  12. If it gets cool enough, light a fire in the fireplace
  13. Buy gourds and mini pumpkins for my table
  14. Make butternut squash soup
  15. Enjoy football and snacks with my husband
  16. Participate in a holiday 5K
  17. Invite friends over for Thanksgiving
  18. Go to the Quilt Fest
  19. Try a new recipe for a seasonal cocktail
  20. Bring back Cocktail Night!
  21. Road trip with a friend to a massive quilt store south of us
  22. Bake bread and rolls (perfect baking weather)
  23. Harry Potter Movie Marathon
  24. Donate a meal to a local youth organization
  25. Donate fun band-aids to local children’s hospital

Save

14 thoughts on “Autumn Joy List

  1. What a fun idea. I love your Joy list. I don’t know whether to use yours as a guide or attempt my own. Oh who am I kidding? I will feel accomplished if I get one of your items done. I think I will go and light a candle now.

    1. Well, unlike my goals list, these are purely for my own enjoyment. So not getting to everything on the list carries a great deal less weight in that sense.

      You can make a list with only the things you like to do on it! It doesn’t have to have any specific number of items.

  2. Ooh I have a candle lit already (Pumpkin Pecan Waffles right now) and I have 2 loaves of pumpkin chocolate bread baking in the roaster outside so I’m pretty joyful ๐Ÿ™‚

    Definitely will make butternut squash soup and bake bread… but not today. Cocktail Night sounds fabulous but with my diet, it probably won’t happen. Now I want a margarita or a piรฑa colada and it’s not even 9:30 a.m.

    No fires for us since our fireplace doesn’t work, but this week I ordered a tea candle holder that’s shaped like birch logs so I was going to put that in the fire place instead. I need to go buy cheap tea candles. The Dollar Tree or Walmart probably have those.

    Greg’s refusing to watch the NFL games this year and with my lovely Peyton Manning not playing anymore, I have to say I don’t miss it. He does watch college football but didn’t yesterday. I wonder if he forgot?

    I’ll probably make a meal donation through Publix at Thanksgiving time as I always do.

    Now I’m in the mood to put up some Fall decorations! I need to trudge up to the “attic” a little later on. Thanks for the inspiration, that was a fun list to read and to think about!

    1. My candle is called Harvest Sangria — it’s just a little thing I picked up at Target. It does smell nice and will leave me with a pretty votive holder which was my goal. ๐Ÿ™‚ Target had tea light candles in packs of 100 for about $4. I didn’t think to look at Dollar Tree.

      I’m going to pop some pumpkin bread in the oven today. With football on in the background. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad this list was inspiring to you!

  3. What a great list! I love the idea of a for pleasure to do list.

    I love warm vanilla scented candles. They’re my go to candle scent. Pumpkin pie was on my plans for this weekend, but I had some lingering produce that I felt like needed to be used up. I baked an apple and sweet potato crisp instead — kind of winging it as I went.

    1. Thanks Shara! I am really picky about candles; some vanilla scents are lovely and others I don’t care for as much. So finding scents that both my husband and I enjoy can be a challenge.

      I’m curious to hear about your apple and sweet potato crisp; sounds different but yummy!

  4. LOVE doing this sort of a “To Do” list! It definitely takes the drudgery out of regular chore lists doesn’t it? I may need to steal this little idea for myself! Thank you so much for sharing!!! =)

    1. Yes, it’s nice to remind yourself that having fun is important, too! I’ll look forward to reading your list. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I am going to add the candle thing to my list. Your list is great. Can I also borrow the cocktail night idea?

    1. Your monthly joy lists were my inspiration! And please take on the cocktail night idea — it’s fun. We try a different cocktail each week; I aim for a mix of seasonal and classic.

      1. That is kind of what I was thinking. It is going to be hot for a bit more here so I might aim for something traditional yet cool the first few weeks. I think I might have to start a cocktail day post!

      2. That would be fun — I want to try and remember to post ours so that I am inspired to keep doing it! We were doing it pretty consistently last year but then when my schedule got crazy, that kind of fell to the wayside. I’m excited to bring it back and I think it will be fun if others are doing it too!

  6. This is such a great idea! I don’t think I’ve ever made a joy list! It’s something I might copy! We can all do with a little more joy in our lives!

Comments are closed.