Chickpea and Squash Curry

chickpea-and-squash-curry-3

This was really good!! Also completely inauthentic, but…still, so good. I had prepped the veggies the night before so it came together really quickly. For posterity’s sake, a recipe of sorts (more like…what I did).

Chickpea and Squash Curry w/Cucumber Raita

  • 1T olive oil
  • 2 yellow squash
  • 1 med. zucchini
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1/2 med. onion, sliced
  • 1/2 pint grape tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with chilis
  • 1/3 c. raisins
  • handful of flaked coconut
  • queso fresco, cut into large-ish chunks (I used what was left of the package I bought earlier this month — a little less than half)
  • 1-2T curry powder
  • cumin
  • garam masala
  • salt
  • 1/2 c. plain yogurt
  • 1/4 c. plain kefir
  • 1/4 c. grated carrot
  • 1 mini cucumber, diced
  • 1-2T diced fresh jalapeno
  • Cilantro for garnish
  • Cooked jasmine or other rice
  1. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add olive oil and sliced onion. When translucent, add squash. Saute for a couple of minutes, then cover and cook a few more minutes to draw out additional liquid.
  2. Add spices — I probably used about 2T curry powder and maybe a teaspoon each of cumin and garam masala? You wouldn’t need the garam masala but I knew I was adding raisins and coconut and I like the cinnamony flavor it adds. Anyway, add spices and stir to distribute around the vegetables. Cook about a minute, then add the chickpeas (not drained), tomatoes (fresh and canned), raisins and coconut.
  3. Stir to thoroughly combine. Cook for about 5-7 more minutes, then add the chunks of queso fresco and fold gently into veggie mixture. Turn heat to low, cover and allow to simmer ten minutes or until ready to eat.
  4. Meanwhile, make raita. In a small bowl combine yogurt, kefir, carrot, jalapenos and cucumber. Stir and set aside. The longer it sits the more the flavors infuse the yogurt.
  5. Serve curry over rice and raita over the curry. Garnish with cilantro. Serves 6.

As you can see, super easy and pretty healthy. Lots of veggies, for sure! The queso fresco was FANTASTIC in this dish and a really good substitute for paneer. I am excited because I didn’t have a ton of ideas for what to do with the leftover queso  but now that I know it works so well as a paneer stand-in, I will definitely be buying it more often. This would be good with other veggies, too, I’m sure. And you could sub naan for the rice. I stirred extra cilantro into the raita and that was really good with leftovers, too.

None of this would pass muster as authentic India cuisine, but really it’s quite good for an easy weeknight craving. Do you like curries? I really do; so far I tend to prefer Indian (which, so broad) curries to Thai style curries. I do like Thai curries, they’re just so rich that I’m not tempted too often to make them at home.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Chickpea and Squash Curry

    1. Thanks! Do you have any curry recipes on your blog? I’ll have to check and see. There are so many different ways to make curries — I love to find new recipes.

  1. That looks really good! I love chickpeas. I wonder if I substituted vegan sour cream or cream cheese if the texture would at least be similar. I’ll have to try it and see.

    1. Shara, I think that tofu might actually replicate the texture better than a sour cream or cream cheese. And it would also be delicious, if you like tofu (I do).

Comments are closed.