Daybook: September 12, 2016

Monday, September 12th

Vintage-Bedtime-Image-GraphicsFairy

Outside my window…….it’s raining! Otherwise pretty quiet in my neighborhood this morning.

I am thinking…….about what I need to finish up before leaving for classes later today.

I am thankful for……a lovely, clean home (and the friends whose company over the weekend inspired such a thorough cleaning).

From the kitchen…..I’ll be boiling eggs and prepping tomorrow’s dinner ingredients after I finish this post. I also need to pull out some ground chicken for later this week and think about what else I’d like to cook or need to use up in meals this week.

I am wearing…..pjs, still. I’ll shower and dress for school later today. At which point I’ll be wearing cropped jeans and a turquoise top.

I am creating…..a simple baby quilt. I hope to work on it this evening after classes.

I am going…….to class this afternoon.

I am reading……..some chapters on counseling skills. It’s really interesting!

I am hoping……to finish all my reading before class starts, ha! Also to FaceTime with my sister and nieces at some point this week, too.

I am hearing…..Michael talking to a client, a cat carrying a toy around like a baby and “talking” to it.

Around the house…….A candle is burning, the cats are mostly quiet and I just threw a load of clothes in the washer. I feel productive!

One of my favorite things……the sound of rain on the skylights.

A few plans for the rest of the week…..include going to class this afternoon and Wednesday, to work on Tuesday and Thursday. I’m watching a friend’s daughter one evening while she attends a funeral. I may meet a friend for lunch on Friday and plan a weekend day trip with another friend.

Here is a picture I am sharing…….our table with chairs. A while ago I shared photos of the new table we bought (unfinished) and stained, but we hadn’t purchased chairs at that point. This is a late evening picture after our friends left, so it’s a bit shadowy, but you get the general idea. I’m really happy with the chairs we chose!

img_3018

 

12 thoughts on “Daybook: September 12, 2016

  1. “I am thankful for……a lovely, clean home (and the friends whose company over the weekend inspired such a thorough cleaning). ” Why do we reward those who visit us and not those of us who occupy the house on a daily basis? I know I am guilty of it.

    1. Maintaining a tidy home is so hard for me! But I love a clean home. It’s true, though, that I don’t often feel like all that effort (which doesn’t have to be a ton) isn’t worth it just for me. I really want to change this habit!

      1. This is why I don’t like or encourage visitors. So I can bask in my slovenly house. LOL. (Greg tells me that the correct adjective is slovenly so I’m going with it but it feels wrong…)

    1. Thanks! The green chair belonged to my MIL and used to be at our former kitchen table. I really like it too.

      Company is the best motivator for a clean home!

    2. Aw man, I didn’t even see a green chair until you mentioned it! Laura said to look at the new chairs she bought to put around the table so I dutifully looked at the new chairs 🙂 Which are lovely and go very well with that table, I would have never thought to pair them.

    1. Thanks! I really do enjoy my classes and the last one of the evening is really great, so that is a nice high to leave with each week.

  2. I love today’s Day Book. You sound so much more relaxed than you have recently! You made plans with friends, you’ve done a lot of housework and get to enjoy it now that you’re down to just 1 job and your classes, you’re burning a candle… it all sounds so peaceful!

    So, how’s the going to exercise early in the morning before classes start working? Lol. I was going to exercise today and somehow never got to it. I probably won’t get to it tomorrow or Wednesday either because I have to go grocery shopping and that takes a lot out of me.

    Have a great week!

    1. Haha, I haven’t managed to meet my morning exercise goal at all! Grocery shopping is super tiring — it always amazes me.

Comments are closed.