Food Recently: August 2016

I haven’t posted lately on what we’ve actually eaten this month; honestly, I think posts about what we really eat are a bit more helpful to me than posting meal plans, as I am not always the best about sticking with them. Anyway, the above mosaic shows a few things made this month that were either new recipes or dishes I remembered to take a picture of!! 😉 Starting clockwise with the pancakes, we’ve eaten/I’ve cooked this month:

  • Blueberry pancakes using the whole wheat baking mix I made last month.
  • Chipotle-lime chicken burrito bowls
  • No-bake peanut butter chocolate chip granola bars
  • Edamame salad
  • White chicken chili
  • Salisbury steak meatballs, mashed potatoes, steamed green beans

We also ate a lot of old favorites, as you’ll see below:

First four are in the above mosaic, the rest are things we ate but I’ve never really photographed:

  • Oven fajitas
  • Black bean and corn salad
  • Stuffed peppers
  • Granola and fruit
  • Black bean and cheese quesadillas
  • Eggs, potatoes, sausage
  • Soup from the freezer (cannot remember if it was chili or cabbage soup…)
  • Lots of oatmeal for breakfast
  • Applesauce spice muffins
  • Raw veggies and ranch dip

When things settle down a bit I want to really record everything we eat for a whole week and then price out what those meals and snacks cost. Mostly because I’m interested, but also because I think having that kind of knowledge will better inform my grocery trips.

Did you eat anything interesting this month? Do you tend to cook old favorites or mostly new recipes? Or are you like me and do a mix of both? Do you follow a recipe or throw things together on a whim? I mostly throw things together, sometimes based on recipes I read and sometimes because I think they’d taste good. We haven’t died yet and no one complains about my cooking, so I guess this method works for us!

8 thoughts on “Food Recently: August 2016

  1. The burrito bowl looks delicious! The most “interesting” food I ate this past month wasn’t even something that I cooked from scratch: Greg and I discovered that we really REALLY like sliced jalapeños on our pizza. So every time I got a cheese pizza on clearance (3 times this past month!) I used my homegrown jalapeños on my slices. So, so good and I finally found a use for them beyond using them in refrigerator pickles or just plain freezing them.

    Before May or so, I would cook a new recipe almost every night and it was fun. Then I got burnt out on menus and we ate whatever inspired me that day, which meant that I actually wasn’t very much inspired. Now I’m back to making menus but I’m mostly using simple meals that I’ve been cooking for a long time. Being on a diet tends to make me want to spend less time in the kitchen so I’m not tempted by all the yumminess!

    I’d love to make stuffed green peppers because I love them but Greg can’t eat them and the kids don’t care for them too much. One day, if I ever reclaim some room in my freezers, I’ll make a few just for myself and freeze them 🙂

    1. Thanks — the burrito bowls turned out quite yummy.

      Jalapeno on pizza sounds really good, actually! I may have to try that sometime.

      I’m more likely to try new recipes when I don’t have a strict meal plan. One thing I’m really looking forward once my library job is finished is having a bit more time to spend cooking and planning the new recipes I want to try. It can definitely be rough on a diet, though!

      I think the green peppers would freeze really well! I also make a stuffed pepper soup that we both like. It has more of the traditional stuffed pepper flavor while the peppers I made recently had a sausage and mushroom filling.

    1. Thanks! That’s kind of what I like. And I also like just puttering around in the kitchen trying out my own combinations. 🙂

  2. There are just the two of us right now and we do not entertain much anymore. As a result, my cooking is usually by rote. I don’t even make a menu plan anymore. Every once in a while I will come across something that I want to try. I am not adverse to trying new recipes. Your food photos look awesome by the way. They look very tempting.

    1. Thanks for the complement on the photos! I don’t tend to actually follow my meal plan, but I do like keeping track of what I make/we eat so I know whether or not to keep that dish in rotation. There are some foods that fall away and then we rediscover them and we can never remember why we stopped eating it. Who knows!

Comments are closed.