Grocery Haul: Aldi, Publix

Ok. New month, new plan! Also, I’ve been running around like a crazy person to get ready for school and a trip so my posting has been light (as in…non-existent). But I hope to be back to some semblance of normal soon. Back to the new plan. I’m dropping my grocery budget to $300/month going forward. I’ve also made the decision to shop at BJs only every two months (if I can manage it). I did that for this month for August and September and I am going to split the expense over the two months. I’ll post about my BJs trip separately, though. It’s not really a huge haul so much as I don’t want to muddy the waters on this more normal trip.

Quick summary: 2 person household, both adults. $300/month. Does not include $$ toward eating out. Does include household items like toilet paper, soap, detergent, etc.

Aldi 080316 (2)

Aldi 8/3/16

  1. Hot & spicy cheese crackers, 1 box @ $1.99
  2. Protein bars, 1 box @ $1.99
  3. Flour tortillas, family pack @ $1.99
  4. Trail mix, 1 bag @ $4.89
  5. Steak seasoning, 1 jar @ $.99
  6. Crunchy peanut butter, 1 jar @ $2.69
  7. Hot sauce, 1 bottle @ $1.78
  8. Petite diced tomatoes, 2 cans @ $.59/ea
  9. Diced tomatoes, 2 cans @ $.69/ea
  10. Fire roasted tomatoes, 2 cans @ $.89/ea
  11. Tomatoes w/chilis, 4 cans @ $.59/ea

Aldi 080316

Aldi, 8/3/16, cont.

  1. Frozen shelled edamame, 5lbs @ $1.69/lb
  2. Bananas, 1.73lbs @ $.29/lb
  3. Fudge pops, 1 box @ $1.39
  4. Mini cucumbers, 1lb @ $1.99
  5. Spinach, 1bag @ $1.79
  6. Red grapes, 2lbs @ $.79/lb
  7. Tortilla chips, 1 bag @ $1.19

Total: $40.01

I was REALLY excited to see the shelled edamame and stocked up. I’ve lately only seen the kind that is in the pod and I really prefer the shelled for convenience. So I went ahead and grabbed several bags. I also realized I was out of most of my canned tomatoes so selected several varieties to get my pantry back up to par. I find the price differences for the same size cans really interesting. The fudge pops are SO good! The crackers are for my husband who will not be vacationing with us this month and the protein bars and trail mix are for me to take along on my trip.

Publix 073016

Publix, 7/30/16

  1. Bananas, 3lbs @ $.59/lb
  2. Tortilla chips, 1 bag @ $2.00
  3. Pretzel sticks, 1 bag @ $1.99

Total: $5.76

I made this trip the same day I went to BJs. Michael had wanted bananas and they were WAY too green to get there so I stopped at Publix. Where a few salty snacks made it into my basket as well.

Publix 080316

Publix, 8/3/16

  1. Bananas, 2.33lb @ $.59/lb
  2. Pre-cooked bacon, 1 box @ $5.99
  3. Cilantro, 1 bunch @ $.89
  4. Jalapeno, 1 @ $.15
  5. Boar’s Head Black Forest Turkey, .5lb @ $5.93
  6. Peaches, 1.9lbs @ $1.99/lb

Total: $18.11

Bacon is a total splurge item but I so prefer this to cooking it in my kitchen, particularly if Michael wants it for sandwiches. Most of this is for Michael but I need the cilantro and jalapeno for a work party (well, for a salad I am making for a work party…). The bananas from Aldi I bought primarily to freeze but these will be for eating out of hand.

Weekly Total: $63.88

Remaining budget: $236.12

Looking ahead:

I don’t expect to spend much money next week; we split cooking dinners and I know that since the rest of my family is driving, they intend to pack a lot of the food we’ll need. So between reimbursing them and picking up a few things after leaving the airport, I really expect to be well under $50. That might not sound too great, but there will be 13 people with substantial appetites! I’m making lemon rosemary chicken skewers, couscous and chickpea pilaf and a cucumber tomato salad for my contribution, plus chocolate pudding for dessert. I also like to throw an “un-birthday” party when we’re all together, since it so rarely happens, and I’ll be making cupcakes for that event. Otherwise it’s mostly snacks and personal necessities that I need to provide. Really I think Michael will spend more on take-out while I’m gone. Since he didn’t get the time off (he’s had this requested for…9 months, so annoying), he has a little vacation fund to treat himself during this week as well. I’ll be curious to figure out the damage.

6 thoughts on “Grocery Haul: Aldi, Publix

  1. I admit I was curious to know what you bought more expensive bananas at Publix on the same day as you bought the ones on sale at Aldi. My Aldi always has very green bananas but on the day when I actually would have preferred them greenish, they were yellow. I hope they don’t all get too brown before I can eat them all. I seem to be the only one who eats them when my daughter isn’t here.

    Poor Michael stuck behind and having to cook for himself. You must have been super disappointed. Maybe he won’t go out at all since you got him that huge jar of peanut butter?

    I grilled my bacon on the barbecue while I was grilling burgers, the last couple of times, and it tasted great and didn’t dirty my stove (or microwave) at all so I think I’m always going to barbecue it from now on.

    Have fun on your vacation! Good thinking to get your snacks for the trip at Aldi instead of buying them at the airport.

    1. Ha, I don’t think a large jar of peanut butter will deter Michael from picking up some Publix chicken tenders! 😉

      I like the idea of bacon on the grill! Except we have a charcoal grill so I imagine that would get messy fast. I usually only use bacon in soups or stews or as crumbles, so when I buy packs I cut them into smaller chunks. And it doesn’t make the mess just working with the longer strips does.

      I’m really looking forward to vacation!

  2. You have reduced your household budget for two people to $300 a month, while I have essentially increased my budget to $300. I am retired. You work outside the home. I think we basically pay about the same prices for most items, from what I have seen so far. I think you will find this a challenge. I make my own (because I have the time) laundry soap, cleaners, seasonings, baking mixes, etc. I wish you every success; but if you can’t do this, don’t feel you have failed. You have set yourself a HUGE goal. Have fun away on vacation.

    1. Thanks Susan! I agree — I think this will be a bit of a challenge for us. I do make a lot of things from scratch, but never had much luck with the laundry detergent and so on. We’ll see how it goes!

  3. Great haul, as usual! Son3 is home for a couple of weeks so I expect a bump in the grocery costs right now, but I do have a ton of meats, fish and chicken frozen so at least I won’t get hit with that cost!

    1. It’s so nice to have a stocked freezer, I think. I hope you have a great time with your son home!

Comments are closed.