Daybook: July 25, 2016

ClockCaseGraphicsFairy1

Monday, July 25th

Hello! I’m posting this later than I usually do as I spent an aggravating amount of time this morning trying to take care of administrative tasks. I left for work largely annoyed about the fact that the entire world is a poorly run bureaucracy. Now that I’m home I’m hoping to restore my equilibrium. This involves a glass of wine. 😉

Outside my window……cars are driving by as people come home from work.

I am thinking……that I have a lot to be grateful for, despite the irritations of the day. Also that being an adult is annoying sometimes as you only have yourself to blame.

I am thankful for……perseverance, as I was eventually able to find the information I needed. Also: wine.

From the kitchen…..I’m actually making Hamburger Helper! I have no idea why these are in my pantry as it’s not something either of us especially cares for, but it will be quick, easy and comforting and I appreciate that for sure. Maybe this flavor will be better than the other one I have tried (it’s Salisbury, I don’t remember what I tried before, something with ranch?).

I am wearing…..khaki capris and a teal t-shirt with gold flats. Still in my work clothes.

I am creating…..dinner soon. And then maybe going to get in a little crafting. I think that counts as self-care today.

I am going……nowhere, now. I did go to work earlier today, as well as Starbucks. Hmm…as I type this I remember that we don’t have any coffee filters. So perhaps I will venture out to the store.

I am reading……..Dept. of Speculation, by Jenny Offill. The blurb from the inside cover of the book: “Dept. of Speculation is a portrait of a marriage. It is also a beguiling rumination on the mysteries of intimacy, trust, faith, knowledge, and the condition of universal shipwreck that unites us all.” The writing is fantastic.

I am hoping……to have a calm day tomorrow.

I am hearing…..cats starting to yammer for their evening meal.

Around the house……we’re finally gluing our kitchen chairs back together. They’ve been loose for quite a while. Years. We kept putting it off since it was such a big job. Took a whole evening and afternoon to finish. Ha.

One of my favorite things……sarcasm.

A few plans for the rest of the week…..finally get everything together for school. Make sure that every piece of random paperwork is taken care of! Also, continue to work in back yard. I’d like to plant a small fall garden after I get back from vacation, but that will require some serious excavation of the current weedy mess. I am looking forward to meeting a friend for lunch toward the end of the week. And I’m continuing to declutter.

Here is a picture I am sharing……a covered bridge from my home town. I’m missing my family and even though I’ll get to see them soon, we won’t be at home…which is also something I miss.

IMG_2673

8 thoughts on “Daybook: July 25, 2016

  1. I’m sorry you had a crappy morning. I agree that sometimes the bureaucracy and especially bureaucrats are infuriating. I’m glad you had a better afternoon.

    Hey. I’ll be making the Salisbury Steak Hamburger Helper later on this week too! I don’t care of HH either but I got it because there was a promo whereby I could get free ground beef with it. Either that or I got it for free after coupons and app rebates, I can’t remember.

    I love that picture of the covered bridge. So… are you from Ohio? Pennsylvania? You might have told us before but I forgot. I hope you have a great vacation.

    What do you plan on planting in your garden?

    Have a great rest of your evening and I hope your week goes easier than this morning!

    1. I think I ended up with the HH for the same reasons. It was an easy dinner after a weird day!

      I’m from Pennsylvania. The western part of the state, a bit southeast of Pittsburgh. We have quite a lot of Amish in my home county — town is really a misnomer as the entire area is pretty rural.

      Well, I’m dreaming a bit now, so I’m sure this list will narrow considerably, but I want to make some grow buckets — similar to your boxes, but using buckets — and plant late season tomatoes and squash. Not sure if they’ll do anything, but it’s worth a try. I also want to plant one of my raised beds with mostly perennial herbs and the other with greens and maybe some cabbage. I LOVE dark leafy greens like kale, chard and Asian cabbages/greens. Are you going to plant a fall garden?

      1. My high school pen pal was from Indiana, PA and I went to visit her there the first Christmas that I spent in the USA. Her parents owned a gym in Greensburg. I just looked at the map and I never realized that it was so close to Punxsutawney.

        I’ve always wanted to go back to PA. I think it’s one of the top states that I’d like to visit. A bunch of Greg’s ancestors were from there so I’d love to do genealogical research there. Unfortunately, one of the most infuriating things about your home state is that they didn’t require birth or death registrations for the longest time so a lot of records either don’t exist or were destroyed when churches or other informal recordkeeping entities went by the wayside for one reason or another. I keep on hoping that one day I’ll find information about his ancestors of the same last name as ours but so far, no luck.

        It’s really hot for tomatoes right now. You should start the seeds indoor in some potting soil and you can transplant them outdoors in a couple of months when it’s a tiny little bit cooler.

        A couple of years ago I had lots of luck with cabbages and collard greens. Well, one HUGE cabbage (I kept on harvesting the leaves to make stuffed cabbage leaves) and one HUGE head of collard greens that I kept harvesting as well. I need to find my records to see exactly when I had planted them and try it again around the same time because this past winter was a disaster. Neither cabbage nor collard greens produced anything. Well, the collards did but the bugs devoured them before they could get very big. I haven’t had much luck with kale but there’s a place just a few miles north of my house where this lady used to grow it in ground with much success. So it really all depends on the soil and the water. I don’t have micro-watering stuff and it’s always a problem trying to find the right amount of water to apply. When they grew well, I planted them in ground and used a pop up sprinkler to water for about 30 minutes every other day or so. But it seems so inefficient that I tried growing them in the self-watering bins last summer. Well, that didn’t work for me at all. However, the guy who was selling the self-watering bins at the Winter Garden festival that we attended a few months back was growing monstrous kale and collard greens in his! I’m not really sure how he managed that. My soil is probably not that good.

        Anyhoo good luck!

      2. I do love PA. I hope you get a chance to visit — there’s tons of history and it’s just really beautiful as well. Also, Greensburg is pretty close to my hometown. 🙂

        I will be lucky if I get anything planted next month, really. My hope is to get the beds into some kind of working order once we’re back from vacation; I probably won’t get much planted until September. I run into short days and cool-ish temps for tomatoes if I wait much later than that. I think. Last year I planted chard and kale directly in the ground and nothing happened. I didn’t take good care of them, but I also know that our soil is pretty crappy. For the raised beds part of my plan is to dig pretty deep, remove all the older soil and replace with a mix of compost, potting soil and topsoil. I hope that improves my growth rate. I also want to figure out a way to do drip irrigation in those beds. I know that part of my problem is that they need more water than I ever gave them. The amount of water gardens need astonishes me.

        I may be calling out to you for help if it all goes south. 😉

  2. What a great way to start your day. Mine started like that yesterday, but instead of having to face the day (and work), I went back to bed. Ha. And I enjoyed it.

    I am also interested in knowing where home is. I can’t make out the sign. There is something so romantic about covered bridges.

    I am thankful for perseverance,,,,and wine. *smile* I agree whole-heartedly. You have given us an interesting perspective of your Day Book from the end of the day.

    1. Man, at a certain point today I really did want to go back to bed. Too bad for me. Ha. 🙂

      I’m from western Pennsylvania, south east a bit from Pittsburgh. Actually if you are familiar with Flight 93, I grew up in that area. I love covered bridges although I find them less romantic if they are still in use — sometimes they are quite rickety and often only one lane, which can be interesting to say the least!

  3. I love seeing these daybook posts. I get to see how much more interesting most people are than I am.
    I prefer to walk covered bridges rather than drive them. (See I am boring!)

    1. Haha, I have to think hard to answer those sometimes! Not that I don’t have an answer, just that I don’t tend to think about what I’m doing in that way.

      I also prefer walking across covered bridges. Feels like a more authentic experience, somehow. 😉

Comments are closed.