Meals this Week: July 24 – 30

Retro-Cooking-Mom-GraphicsFairy

I have no great photos of our food this week, but I did make three out of five planned meals:

  • Simple Veggie Fried Rice
  • Beef and Bean Chile, Cornbread
  • Broccoli Cheese Soup, Biscuits
  • Hot Dogs, Sweet Potato Fries, Waldorf Salad
  • Korean-style Chicken over Rice, Garlicky Greens

Although I didn’t end up making all of the planned sides. We used up the rice with the Korean-style chicken, so there wasn’t any left for fried rice. And the other meals had plenty of leftovers. This worked well for us because I didn’t have a ton of food waste this week, which is something I’m actively working to cut down. On the plan for this week:

  • Black Beans and Rice, Grilled Veggies
  • Beef/Turkey, Bean and Cheese Burritos, Salad
  • Mujadarrah, Sweet and Sour Kale
  • Vegetable Soup, Grilled Cheese (freezer meal)

I’m planning to make a large batch of burritos for freezing and we have a quart of vegetable soup in the freezer, so I want to use that this week, too. Optimally this is the best way for me to utilize freezer cooking — putting one meal in as I take one meal out. I’m not always that organized. I’ll also be doing some food prep today and tomorrow to keep stocked up in lunches, snacks and breakfast foods:

  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Chex Mix (never made this last week)
  • Granola (my huge batch is finally gone)
  • Banana bread pudding (I didn’t end up loving the mini-bagels I purchased recently so I’m hoping this will make them more palatable)

 

2 thoughts on “Meals this Week: July 24 – 30

  1. Hmm, bread pudding! I have a package of hot dog buns that we never used and a lone hamburger bun that’s past its prime, so I was thinking about making bread pudding in the crockpot with those. I’ll need to go look in my recipe books to find a good one.

    I like the idea of freezer cooking but I’ve never done it. I always feel like I would need an empty freezer first, and that’s never going to happen, lol!

    Thanks for reminding me to boil eggs. Greg is going to need some for his lunch tomorrow and I think I’m out of them. Going to put the water on right now!

    Have a great cooking week!

    1. It can be difficult to find the perfect ratio between enough space for freezer cooking and enough space for freezer foods. 😉 I am not a huge freezer cooking person, but there are some things that are really useful to me to make ahead. Since we are just two people, I also like to split up larger meals and send half to the freezer. I know that some people prepare two lasagnes; for us that would be too much, but splitting a regular lasagne into two smaller pans works perfectly.

      I found eggs to be $.69 at Aldi on Saturday, so I really stocked up. I watch the price there like a hawk, especially as I noticed other folks around the frugal blog web mentioning that they were finding eggs for $.49! Figured it had to happen soon for us, too! I’ll pick up more when I do a “real” shop Wednesday, too.

Comments are closed.