Groceries: Aldi, Publix

I’d originally planned to do a bit more shopping than this, but as I mentioned in an earlier post — I’ve been tired and out of sorts this week. I made two odd shops over the weekend but otherwise have just been using up what we have around here.

As a reminder, we are a household of two adults, no children. My grocery budget does include toiletries and similar household items, but not pet supplies, which have their own budget. My goal is to stay at or under (preferably under) $400, and I like to shoot for an average of $60/week at “regular” grocery stores so I have  a decent amount to spend at a monthly or so stock up when I visit BJs (warehouse store). This number feels pretty generous to me and I am more motivated to cook at home when there is a little more wiggle room in my budget. When I tried to keep a much tighter grocery budget, we ended up eating out a lot and that was just frustrating to me. I’m posting all this because I love to read and/or watch grocery hauls from others and I am sometimes guilty of the comparison game, where I never end out on top. But everyone has different needs and resources and, in the end, this is what works for us!:)

This month I am carrying over a $70 deficit from overspending in June, so my budget is actually $329.29.

Aldi 70916

Aldi, 7/9/16

  • Blueberries, 1 pint @ $.99
  • 12 grain bread, 1 loaf @ $1.79
  • Mini bagels, 1 bag @ $1.99
  • Pepperoni pizza, 1 @ $5.99
  • White onions, 2 lbs @ $1.69
  • Protein bars, 2 boxes @ $1.99/ea
  • Watermelon, 1 @ $3.99
  • Balsamic glaze, 1 bottle @ $2.49

Total: $22.91

OOP: ZERO I used a gift card recovered in the great purse decluttering session of last week.

I stopped hoping they’d have parsley, onions and dried rosemary. I found the onions, although they had no yellow onions. I don’t especially love white onions, but I had actually run out. The pizza was becauase at a certain point in walking through the store…I really just couldn’t face making dinner once I got home (I was stopping at the store after work). We’d tried the deli pizza before and hadn’t loved it but we’d also baked it on a pan. The directions explicitly say NOT to do this, so I thought we’d give it another try. It was really good! What else. The protein bars I picked up because Nathalie mentioned them in her recent grocery post and I’ve been looking for something like this for my afternoons at work. They’re pretty tasty. And the balsamic glaze is because I LOVE balsamic glaze but it’s usually a bit more expensive. I thought if we liked this I’d pick up more but they may not have anymore since I didn’t make it in today. The mini bagels are just ok. They’re fine for avocado toast in the morning without the super carb fest that is a regular size bagel.

Publix 71016Publix, 7/11/16

  • Oreo Thins, 6 packs @ $7.98 (a combination of coupons and BOGO deals)
  • Peaches, 5 @ $2.49/lb
  • Cottage cheese, 24 oz @ $2.79
  • 1% milk, half gallons @ $2.50
  • Cherries, 2.19lb @ $1.99/lb
  • Activia yogurt, 2 4pks @ $2.00/ea

Total: $22.77

Another not entirely typical shopping trip. I don’t generally buy six packs of cookies at once. But there was a decent deal with the combination of BOGOs and coupons, although I probably could have made it even better if I’d had a third coupon. But I didn’t and that’s fine. Most of these are stowed away for a taste testing adventure during family vacation. But I did open a pack and discover that these are pretty good! The Activia was also supposed to be a coupon thing but actually didn’t work out and now I have yogurt on hand that I don’t especially care for. But it’s fine with granola. The cottage cheese is for Michael and recipe. Peaches in case I ran out of frozen while making a pie for a coworker’s birthday. I was really bummed to see that the two peaches left after pie baking were super moldy and soft the next day. They had been hard the day before and we run the AC all the time. I threw the peaches out but took a picture. In general I am pretty lax about returning things, but I do want to follow up on this. Less than 24 hours to go totally bad! I was annoyed.

Weekly Total: $22.77

Remaining Budget: $143.27

This makes me happy! Next week I will need to stock up on fresh produce for sure, and I know that the multi-colored peppers I love are on sale at Aldi, so I will probably stop in there over the weekend. But really we have quite a bit of food on hand. It’s good to stop worrying about acquiring and spend more time thinking about using!

4 thoughts on “Groceries: Aldi, Publix

  1. Yay for gift cards. That was a great shop this week. Lately it seems to get harder and harder to find good produce buys. Maybe things will get better once the local produce starts coming in. Blueberries were a great price though.

    1. It was super nice to have that ‘free’ money to use! I really prefer to buy my produce, for the most part, at one particular grocery store but it’s a little out of the way so I don’t get there as often as I’d like.

      The blueberries were a steal!!

Comments are closed.