Fresh Corn and Black Bean Salad

corn and bean salad

Over the weekend I made this fresh corn and black bean salad. I’ve made a variation on this salad for a long time, although I think we got a little burnt out on it because I haven’t made it too recently. However I was just watching Clean and Delicious, a YouTube channel devoted to clean, healthy nutrition and cooking. And she made this salad. Which was also MY salad! My recipe is very similar, but I’m writing it down here because I have also made this with some variations and I wanted to write those down as well. Also, Nathalie requested the recipe. 🙂

Fresh Corn and Bean Salad

  • 3 ears fresh sweet corn
  • 3 cups cooked black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 cup diced sweet peppers (I used a mix of red, yellow and orange)
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 3 T. lime juice (or more to taste)
  • Chopped cilantro, to taste
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Cut corn off cobs into large bowl. This is easiest if you cut a bit of the end off so the cob will stand more or less level in your bowl. I find the corn flies everywhere if you cut it on a board, so right into the bowl is my choice.
  2. Add black beans, tomatoes, peppers, garlic, and shallot to bowl. Stir well to combine.
  3. Drizzle olive oil over salad and a generous amount of lime juice. If you are using fresh limes, the zest is really good here, too.
  4. Stir in cilantro (if you like it) and taste. Add salt and pepper as desired.

Variations:

  1. You can roast or grill the corn first, let it cool and then proceed as above. It’s tasty, too! If I am roasting frozen corn I will toss it with a little olive oil, smoked paprika and cayenne first. It will smell nutty and be just slightly brown when it is finished. You can go further but it won’t char in the oven as nicely as it will on the grill (obviously).
  2. You can use thawed frozen corn in place of the fresh corn. I prefer shoe peg or some other small, tender frozen variety to the big yellow kernels, although the big yellow kernels do hold up to roasting better than the tender stuff.
  3. Instead of tomatoes and fresh peppers, you can stir some salsa into the rice and corn. A chunky salsa works well here. It’s also really good if you make pineapple or mango salsa and sub that for the peppers and tomatoes. But add some fresh jalapeno if you do that. So. Good.
  4. You can also dress this more like the traditional three or four bean salad — oil, vinegar, a little sugar. Leave out the cilantro and tomatoes, add in chopped celery, maybe some parsley. This is not my favorite, but it is still pretty good.
  5. You can use lemon juice instead of lime juice. You can also use other citrus juices, but if I use orange juice I also like to use some vinegar because the orange juice is too sweet on it’s own in my opinion.
  6. Sometimes I like to add chopped jalapeno to the veggies and smoked paprika or chipotle chili powder to the dressing.
  7. I like to eat it plain but it is also excellent served over (or under) fish, chicken and shrimp. And of course it’s great with tortilla chips. Or mixed into a burrito bowl, which I will be doing for lunch at least once this week!

 

4 thoughts on “Fresh Corn and Black Bean Salad

  1. This sounds really good. I have a few ears of leftover corn on the cob. This might be a great way t use them!

  2. Yay, thanks! I forgot to buy fresh corn this week so maybe I’ll try it with canned corn (shh, shh, it’ll be alright!) this weekend. I’ll let you know if I do!

Comments are closed.