Catching Up

Somehow holiday weekends are both busy and not-busy all at the same time. We had a nice day yesterday and mostly relaxed. We ended up “grilling” our burgers inside and eating our 4th feast inside while watching LOTR. Not very traditional, but very nice for us. We did catch a bit of the Capitol Fourth program, too. And of course there were tons of fireworks being set off in our neighborhood, so that provided some background noise. We had a nice amount of leftovers from our meal yesterday that will last us through the week and I ended up getting up this morning to prep a bit more. I thought I’d share what we ate and what I made.

4th feast_6

As mentioned, we made burgers inside using our grill pan. I made red, white and blue potato salad using the “celebration” mix of baby potatoes I bought at Publix the previous week. It’s hard to tell, but the potatoes are a mix of red skinned, purple skinned and fleshed and white potatoes. The purple potatoes turn sort of indigo when cooked, which worked as blue for me! We also had a tomato and cucumber salad and a no-bake strawberry cheesecake. Keeping with the patriotic theme, I topped mine with some blueberries. I also cooked up a big pot of black beans while we watched the first half of the second LOTR movie. I made the bean and corn salad today. It’s one of my favorites.

roasted veggies

I also roasted quite a few veggies. Carrots, fennel, corn and peppers all got the heat treatment. They’ll be good on their own or as part of burrito/fajita bowls. I also made a pot of brown rice, a pan of fajita chicken and kept a container of black beans plain to round out the burrito bowl components. There are avocados in the fridge that I may yet turn into guacamole. Or maybe we’ll just slice them over top.

food prep 070516

Here is everything minus the rice and beans: potato salad, fajita chicken & onions, tomato & cucumber salad, roasted corn & peppers, roasted carrots & fennel, and black bean & corn salad.

I also have been keeping up with my decluttering goal, although I think I am just going to post a weekly round-up rather than a photo a day. I wasn’t even sure if I would take photos, but they are motivating me to keep at it…so until they no longer keep me at the task, I’m afraid pictures it is!

 

4 thoughts on “Catching Up

    1. Thanks Anne! It was all pretty tasty, although I confess that no-bake cheesecakes are NOT my favorite. It did, however, allow me to use up a pre-made crust and pudding mix that had somehow made their way into my cupboard. 😉

  1. Everything looks delicious although I think that bean and corn salad looks the most delicious. Will you share the recipe? Pretty please?

    1. Thanks! It is super yummy, one of my favorites. I think it will be my post for tomorrow. 🙂

Comments are closed.