Day Book: June 20, 2016

ClockCaseGraphicsFairy1

Monday June 20th

Hello, hello! Last week was really a bummer for me. The shooting at Pulse started a bit of a spiral into depression and subsequent news throughout the week didn’t really help. I took an unplanned but necessary break from the internet for a little while. I’m feeling better now and want to get back into the swing of things!

Outside my window…….it’s sunny but still rather damp. We’ve had a lot of rain the last few days. The flowers/plants in the front beds have really taken off, which is lovely. Unfortunately so have the weeds, which is less lovely. That’s one task for the week.

I am thinking…….about how to integrate all my plans for the week into the time I have available. Related: doing a better job of saying no.

I am thankful for……good coffee. 😉  For some reason neither Michael or I could get to sleep last night, so I’m lagging somewhat this morning. You already know we love our coffee and this morning I am especially grateful for that caffeine pick-me-up.

From the kitchen…..I made cinnamon rolls yesterday with leftover pizza dough and we shared the remaining rolls this morning for breakfast. I’m not entirely sure what I’m making for dinner, but probably some kind of chicken. This week I want to make oatmeal bars for work but need to get more brown sugar.

I am wearing…..sweatpants and a t-shirt. I work half a day today and in the morning I try to get some chores done around the house, so don’t bother dressing up until closer to when I leave for work.

I am creating…..pot holders/mug rugs for some friends.

I am going……to the gym later this afternoon.

I am reading……..Night Falls Fast: Understanding Suicide by Kay Redfield Jamison. It’s an older but well-regarded survey of how and why people commit suicide. I also have a more recent book about depression checked out. These books are very, very interesting but not exactly light reading. (Still reading this!)

I am hoping……that work is sufficiently angst-free. There have been a few shout-y customers the last two weekends and that is not fun.

I am hearing…..Michael on the phone for his work, cars occasionally driving past outside.

Around the house…….I need to do a little laundry, weekly cleaning and I am still working on decluttering the bedroom. This involves getting rid of paper, which is really a struggle for me.

One of my favorite things……sleeping on freshly laundered sheets! Just changed them over today. It’s the best.

A few plans for the rest of the week…..I’m taking a friend to the grocery store (she doesn’t have a car and lives in a food desert, unfortunately), working on some sewing projects and getting back out in the yard to continue clearing out the wild blackberry (I think, they have thorns and occasional berries) vines which are the current bane of my existence.

Here is a picture I am sharing…….my cat in a grocery bag. It was cute. She doesn’t normally do this kind of thing, so I wanted to capture it.

lulu in grocery bag

5 thoughts on “Day Book: June 20, 2016

  1. Let me say it again:((hugs)). I had to turn off/down the TV and radio and ignore most printed media and headlines this past week as well because it just wasn’t healthy for me. I feel a bit insensitive but I think it was self-preservation. No doubt the same for you. I’m sorry for the other bad news and situations you encountered this past week as well. I hope this coming week will be much better. It’s good to see you in good spirits this morning!

    It’s not all that humid here this morning, we had a fresh breeze blowing which was very nice. I even opened up the windows and now it’s time to go close them.

    How nice for you to take your friend grocery shopping! It’ll be nice for her to be able to get what she needs at lower prices and hopefully stock up on essentials.

    Have a great week!

    1. I have to leave another comment because I neglected to click on “Notify me of new comments via Email” and I couldn’t do it without posting another one. It’s like a BOGO comment, really 🙂

      1. Haha, thanks for the good vibes. I do feel better now. And yes, I can keep up with what’s happening in the world without being plugged in 24/7. 😉

  2. Hi Laura,
    I am here from Nathalie’s blog. She actually directed me here because I also do a Day Book entry on Mondays. Hope you don’t mind. I find these entries are very therapeutic, and revealing. I think you get to know the writer a little better.

    1. Hi Susan! Thanks for visiting my blog! I do like the format and it’s nice to reflect on something different, or at least think about things a little bit differently.

Comments are closed.