Black Bean and Cheddar Waffle-wiches

cheddar and black bean grilled waffles 5

In yesterday’s post I mentioned that I had made a crumb cake to use up some older milk, but that I still had some that needed to be used. Tonight I made these waffle-wiches and they were so good! You could make these sandwiches with pretty much any filling, although you might want to leave out the jalapeno if you are taking it in a really different direction. The waffle recipe is one I’ve adapted from a few I’ve read/tried and it is really yummy. I serve them with chile or huevos rancheros and now will be making waffle-wiches!

Cheddar Jalapeno Waffles

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1 T. sugar
  • 1 T. cornstarch
  • 1 T. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 cup grated cheddar
  • 1/4 c. chopped jalapenos
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/4 c. buttermilk (or sour milk)
  • 2 T. vegetable oil
  1. In large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  2. Lightly beat eggs and combine in a small bowl with buttermilk and vegetable oil.
  3. Pour egg mixture over dry ingredients and stir just until combined. Fold in grated cheddar and jalapenos.
  4. Prepare according to instructions that came with your waffle maker.

cheddar and black bean grilled waffles 4

To make sandwiches:

1 batch cheddar jalapeno waffles

Leftover black bean soup and cooked black beans

Additional shredded cheddar cheese

My waffle maker makes the kind of waffles that are four squares in one big waffle. I use two of those smaller waffles for each sandwich. I placed the bottom waffle back in the waffle maker, added my fillings and then put the second waffle on top. Close the waffle maker and allow it to cook as you would a panini.Heat until cheese is melted and filling is warm throughout. Serve! These would be really great with salsa or a chipotle mayo as a dipping sauce.

 

6 thoughts on “Black Bean and Cheddar Waffle-wiches

  1. I really need to stop reading your blog late at night when everyone else is in bed and my stomach is already growling…ESPECIALLY when I have all the ingredients readily available in my kitchen and I’ve had coffee so I’m wide awake.

    So please, please, please, start posting recipes that use offal or roadkill meat, OK? Thanks.

    All kidding aside, this sounds super delicious. So do I see grilled zucchini and grape tomatoes in your picture? Is that a salad that you made to go on the side? Or part of the sandwich?

    1. Haha, no offal around here! But you’ll notice I don’t post any of the failures. šŸ˜‰

      I grilled zucchini and grape tomatoes as a side; it wasn’t really a salad. It was, however, really good. I really like what happens to tomatoes when they are grilled or roasted and they act kind of as a dressing for the zucchini here.

      1. Yum, I grill zucchini all the time but hadn’t thought of grilling the tomatoes. I will have to try that. I will have to try your waffles too, although my waffle irons either make heart-shaped waffles or round Belgian waffles or Mickey Mouse waffles! Maybe it’s time for me to get a 4th waffle iron!

      2. I “grilled” these inside using a grill pan — I think if I were doing the tomatoes outside on an actual grill I’d need one of those little wire boxes. They rolled all around.

        Heart shaped sandwiches would be fun!

Comments are closed.