June Meal Plan

Retro-Cooking-Mom-GraphicsFairy

I like having a loose list of meals planned as I start the month. I’m a little behind on June, but I did come up with a decent plan for the next 25 days. It is NOT numbered as this gives me some flexibility. And I did build in time for leftovers, so there are fewer than 25 recipes below, in case you’re counting. 😉

I’ve decided to do a bit of a pantry challenge for June and so I’ve tried to note in parentheses what pantry/freezer item each recipe will use. If the ingredient is meat, please assume it’s coming from the freezer. It seemed tedious to indicate that each time. The first few meals include sides and are probably what I will make this coming week. But the rest are primarily main dishes and sides will come to me.

Also I’m taking the opportunity to make some new recipes from some of my cookbooks (I have so many, I should use them!). The cookbooks I am focusing on this month are Light Basics Cookbook (Martha Rose Shulman), The Heart of the Plate (Mollie Katzen), and Great Food Fast (Everyday Food). I highly recommend all of these cookbooks; if you happen to see one at your library do check it out!

Dinner

  • Korean Chicken and Mushroom Wraps, Celery and Apple Salad (ground chicken)
  • Turkey Pesto Wraps, Coleslaw
  • Pasta with Chicken, Peppers & Olives (pasta)
  • Lablabi w/Soft Boiled Eggs, Baba Ghanoush, Salad, Pita Bread (chickpeas, flour)
  • Spinach and Arugula Salad w/Parmesan Crusted Mushrooms & Fried Eggs
  • Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas, Grilled Veggies (corn tortillas, black beans, enchilada sauce)
  • Yellow Split Pea Dahl, Basmati Rice w/Nuts and Rasisins (split peas, rice)
  • Huevos Rancheros (corn tortillas)
  • Mujaderrah, Roasted Carrots, Cucumbers Vinaigrette (lentils, rice)
  • Caponata, Crostini
  • Baked Mac & Cheese, Slow-Baked Tomatoes, Bitter Greens or Broccoli Rabe (pasta)
  • Ramen Soup with Soba Noodles, Asian Greens, Sweet Hot Tofu (ramen, soba noodles)
  • Spaghetti alla Puttanesca (olives, pasta)
  • Soy & Maple Glazed Salmon, Sesame Slaw, Peanut Noodles (salmon, soba noodles)
  • Hamburgers, Homemade Buns, Grilled Veggies (ground beef, flour)
  • Smoked Turkey, Cornbread Dressing, Sweet & Spicy Chutney, Greens (turkey, cornmeal, chutney, bacon)
  • Spaghetti and Meatballs (pasta, ground beef)
  • Grilled Chicken, Panzanella (chicken breasts)
  • Indian Spiced Chicken Burgers, Pita Bread (ground chicken, flour)
  • Chicken and Sweet Potato Biscuits (chicken thighs, flour)
  • Festive Pork Roast (pork roast)
  • Fish Tacos (white fish)

 Lunches

  • Quinoa and black bean salad (quinoa, black beans)
  • Lentil salad (lentils)
  • White Bean and Tomato Salad (tomato, tuna)
  • Ramen Noodle and Cabbage Salad (ramen noodles)
  • Tuna salad (tuna)
  • Spring Rolls (paper wrappers)
  • Beef and Bean Burritos (ground beef, pinto beans, bacon)

That’s it! Do you plan your meals at all? By month or by week? If I manage to stick to about 70% of this list, I will be happy. I tend to over plan for the two of us and I like to be able to choose from a big list rather than be restricted by a small list.

 

4 thoughts on “June Meal Plan

  1. I hope you will share a few of those recipes.
    I think about planning and make a loose plan but then forget about it totally and just punt. Oh well!

    1. I am going to try and be better about posting actual recipes, not just photos of what we ate. Even if I don’t stick to it totally (and I won’t, at all), just the act of planning makes me think about what I have on hand and I find I am better about making those ingredients a priority even as I wander further and further from my original plans!!

      Your punting always turns out some pretty awesome meals, though, so it’s not exactly a bad thing!

  2. Look at you, getting all organized and planning for a whole month in advance! Everything sounds terrific. I’m hungry.

    I usually post a menu a week out (to try to capitalize on what we have so I minimize food waste) but these last few weeks I’ve been lazy and just cooking the kind of meals that I cooked when we had all the kids at home and I didn’t want to think about it too much. Read: pasta.

    This week isn’t so different. There’ll be only 3 of us next week and then I’ll be by myself for a couple of weeks so I’m thinking definite pantry and freezer challenge then! But I haven’t thought of what I’ll cook.

    I need to declutter my cookbooks and clipped recipes. I picked up the recipe of the week card from the Publix Apron stand on Saturday… arrgh. I do love their recipes, though. I have a whole binder of them.

    1. Haha, I’m good at planning, we’ll see about the follow through. Although as I mentioned in an earlier comment, just the planning helps me think about what we have on hand that I’d like to use up, whether or not I cook those actual meals.
      I haven’t really made many of the Aprons meals, although I have really enjoyed every sample I’ve tasted from them! If you use them, I don’t think the count as clutter. My cookbook collection is on the fence — I do read them and use them for inspiration quite a bit but since I tend to cook from actual recipes not very often, they tend to sit. But I do feel like I get good use out of them…sigh…

Comments are closed.