Grocery Haul: ALL the Stores

rice crispy treats and wine

I did not buy those things above today. But I sure needed them after my long afternoon shopping! In addition to general busyness in the stores themselves, traffic was just kind of nuts this afternoon. Middle of the afternoon, too, not evening when I’d expect people to be antsy to get home from work. I got hung up in a weird traffic jam and then was stalled by two accidents. One which caused me to sit about a block from the traffic light for 30 minutes. I was not a happy camper, y’all. And I still had to go to Publix! Some stores were out of things and I forgot to put them on my list for other stores so I just forgot them. Ugh. Anyway, I got lots of yummy things and am excited about cooking…although I feel a little silly after my proclamation on Monday regarding wanting to eat more fresh, healthy foods. Witness above, plus I was held up so long I succumbed to the siren song of fried chicken at Publix. Ah, well. You win some, you lose some…

On to the actual groceries. I actually shopped twice this week, trying to get back on track with my usual schedule. But I’m counting this all for June’s grocery budget, FYI.

Aldi 053016

Aldi, 5/30/16

  • Garlic powder @ $.99
  • Onion powder @ $.99
  • Organic bananas, 2lbs @ $.69/lb
  • Mangoes, 2 @ $.49/ea
  • Dried mango, 6 oz @ $3.79
  • Canned beans, 1 @ $.59
  • Limes, 1 bag @ $1.49
  • Strawberries, 2lbs @ $1.49/lb
  • Vidalia onions, 2 2lb bags @ $.79/lb
  • Everything bagels, 6 pack @ $1.59
  • White cheddar popcorn, 2 bags @ $1.79/ea
  • Combos, 1 bag @ $1.69

Total: $21.63

I had intended to only pick up a few things at Aldi when I stopped by on Monday, but I was sidetracked by snack food. Combos are a guilty pleasure of mine and I noticed that the white cheddar popcorn, which Michael really likes, is a seasonal item. I’ve learned to grab a few of those types of things if I think or know we’ll like them as Aldi really does run out fast. The strawberries were fantastic and we ate them up very quickly. I’ve been using the limes with the water melon I picked up at Winn Dixie, one of my favorite combinations. I was down to one last onion, so was happy to pick up a couple of bags. I like sweet onions, too, as they don’t tend to tear up my eyes quite as much as regular yellow onions. I completely ran out of garlic powder when I made oven fajitas and noticed that I was running low on onion powder as well.

Aldi 060116

Aldi, 6/1/16

  • Crispy Rice cereal, 1 box @ $1.39
  • Red grapes, 2lbs @ $.89/lb
  • Lemons, 1 bag @ $2.69
  • Honeydew melon, 1 @ $1.89

Total: $7.75

Since I’d just stopped in earlier in the week, I didn’t need much. They were out of spinach, which was annoying. And I forgot to get bread, which I knew I needed but hadn’t written down. Argh. Michael had specifically asked for it, too, so he could make sandwiches. Fail.

BJs 060116

BJs, 6/1/16

  • Juice pops, 40 ct @ $7.99
  • French roast coffee, 2.5lbs @ $19.99
  • Sharp cheddar cheese, 2 lbs @ $5.79
  • Cherubs grape tomatoes, 1.5lbs $4.49

Total: $38.82

BUT I had a rebate because of a recall on previously purchased foods, so…

My actual OOP: $7.99

I really like visiting BJs mid-week, mid-day. It’s pretty slow and I can meander or speed through as I like. I tried samples today, which usually I don’t. And I was reminded that I do not care for peanut butter filled pretzels. But white grape juice is yummy. After grabbing my small amount of things — I hadn’t picked up a cart because I knew I wanted such a little bit — I realized that I had forgotten my membership card. So I had to leave all my things behind and go to the customer service counter. Where one person was handling a growing line of customers. And since it’s customer service, each transaction tends to take a little time. Sigh. I did remember to ask about my rebate because of the recall, so the bright side to this wait is that I had a very low out of pocket cost today. The bummer is that I have to throw out some frozen veggies I had purchased earlier in the year.

Freshfield Farms 060116

Freshfield Farms, 6/1/16

  • Basil @ $1.49
  • Italian parsley, 1 bunch @ $.49
  • Organic raspberries, 3 @ $5.00
  • Blueberries, 3 pints @ $5.00
  • Organic Strawberries, 2lbs @ $4.00
  • Eggplant, 2 @ $.89/lb
  • Mushrooms, 2lbs @ $5.00
  • Smitten apples, 2.17lb @ $2.19/lb

Total: $27.94

This was my first stop today. I really love this store. I think I mentioned before — the concept behind this very small chain of stores (there is one here and one in Orlando) is that they contain only those items found in the perimeter of a typical supermarket. Fresh fruits and vegetables, primarily, although they expanded last year and now have a pretty good selection of meat, poultry, sea food and dairy. There are a few shelf stable items, dried beans mostly. And a very small amount of frozen veggies. In general the food is high quality and the prices are good. Not always great, but especially considering the quality — very competitive. This time of year their prices on berries are out of control and I definitely take advantage. I LOVE raspberries. And you can’t beat the price for organic berries. I don’t stress about that because it’s just generally not in the budget, but when these prices come around I make sure to grab some! The mushrooms are always this price. For some reason I have a very hard time doing the math to figure out if this price is better or worse than the Aldi regular price. Finally I made myself write down the Aldi price. I don’t know why this was so hard. But the answer is…these are about 10 cents cheaper per pound. Not a huge difference…but still. I was annoyed at the price of the basil, but I don’t think it’s bad so much as I am kind of cheap. And also…no one else has it. So weird to me. I was really excited about the eggplant, too. I think we’ll be making some baba ganoush soon! The apples are for Michael, who is not too interested in berries. More for me!

Publix 060116

Publix, 6/1/16

  • Tortilla chips, 1 bag @ $2
  • Cottage cheese, 2 @ $2.99 (BOGO)
  • Turkey lunch meat, 8 oz @ $3.67
  • Fried chicken tenders, 1.5lbs @ @12.22

Total: $20.88

This was my last stop today (even though I am listing things alphabetically… whatever… work with me ๐Ÿ™‚ ). After sitting at the stoplight barely a block away for 30 minutes waiting for traffic to unsnarl because of an accident. While I was waiting I did get to see the driver of the car ahead of my get out and walk across the traffic lane in her bikini to bum a light off a driver in another lane. So I was moderately entertained, anyway. Back to groceries. By the time I got here I was tired of running around and seriously hungry. I had put beans on for soup but knew it would take a while before that would be ready. And then Michael called requesting chicken tenders. I was weak. They were so good. They are also so expensive! We’re calling it take-out and not planning on eating out any other night this week. The lunch meat is for those sandwiches Michael requested. For which he has no bread. Anyway, I’ve never bought the prepackaged kind before. But the line at the deli was insane. And I just wanted to get home.

WD 053016

Winn-Dixie, 5/30/16

  • Carrots, 5lbs @ $3.50
  • Georgia peaches, 1.87lb @ $.99/lb
  • Flour tortillas, 2 packs @ $2.75 (BOGO)
  • Sweet corn, 4 ears @ $1.34
  • Ketchup, 2 @ $3.00 (BOGO)
  • Watermelon, 1 @ $4.00

Total: $16.46

Stock up on carrots — this week and last week (undocumented) have been partial stocking weeks to get my fridge staples back up to what I am accustomed to after having cleared it out prior to our vacation. Peaches were on sale. They’re definitely early and not quite peak, but still a nice change from apples. Same with the sweet corn, although closer to peak for that around here I guess. Michael loves watermelon and always wants me to buy whole melons. I love them, too, but they sure take up a lot of space in the fridge!!

Weekly total: $102.65

So that’s quite a bit higher than normal for me! Even taking out the fried chicken. But. As I mentioned, still doing some fridge stocking up and it’s unlikely that I’ll be back at Freshfield Farms in the next couple of weeks. It’s not really feasible for me to hit so many stores in one day and still be productive at home. My monthly budget is $400, for the two of us so I still have almost $300 left in the month. I suspect the next week or so will be fairly low, as I work on cooking through what I purchased today and Monday. Maybe I should bake some bread, huh?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Grocery Haul: ALL the Stores

  1. Looks like you got a lot of stuff. I went to Aldi and Harris Teeter yesterday and still need to get lunchmeat and ketchup so I think that yours was way more successful since you got everything you needed ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course, that means that I have to go back out today in search of the rest of the things on the shopping list but I am exhausted after yesterday. You got a lot of trips done in a short amount of time…I don’t know if I would have made it to that many stores!! I was done after library and two grocery stores and ready for lunch.

  2. I don’t usually manage to get to all those stores — it really is exhausting. You’ll notice we had chicken tenders for dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.