Food Lately

We’re back!! We had a wonderful time in Arizona and really got our money’s worth out of our annual national park pass. And we have 11 more months to use it, too. I’m going through photos and plan on a couple of posts to talk about our trip, but thought I’d try to step back into the swing of things by posting some of the food I’ve been preparing since we got home and share what’s on our meal plan for this coming week. Dinner May 30

I’ve really been craving fresh, healthy food with an emphasis on fruits and vegetables since we returned from our trip. This is less to do with what we ate on the trip, and more to do with what we did — lots of hiking and more hiking and just getting out into nature. And it made me remember how much I like doing that kind of stuff. When I’m more active, my body craves better fuel. And of course I think we all want crisper, cooler dishes when the weather turns warm. I’ve also been super grateful for the soups and stews I’ve got stashed in my freezer — it’s been a bit of a whirlwind this past week and I was grateful to have some things ready to just pull out and heat up. One thing I didn’t get a photo of was the shepherd’s pie we had one evening — a freezer meal that is so good, even if it defies my general trend of fresh, light foods. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, clockwise from the top left:

Breakfast May 30

I’ve also really been enjoying breakfast lately. These pictures are pretty self-explanatory, so I’ll just throw in some details here. Avocados have been so cheap and avocado toast is so good. I like it on multi-grain bread or everything bagels, with a little olive oil, salt and pepper. It is a high fat meal but so sustaining. I’ve also found a renewed love for green smoothies, which I am making with kefir in an effort to take in more probiotics and balance out my gut (sorry). I also throw in a scoop of Vega protein powder (plant based), which I prefer to whey protein. I only sometimes have the smoothies for breakfast. More often I make them for sipping on during the day or as a light lunch. I love, love, love everything bagels, although I try not to have them too often. Michael really likes them too, though, so a pack of six is perfect for a week of breakfasts, in rotation with oatmeal and smoothies. Once a week we try to have something we call “special breakfast,” which is just a slightly more involved morning meal. Frequently less healthy than our normal and often involving baked goods. This weekend I made blueberry oatcakes and they were amazing. I slightly altered the recipe from Good Cheap Eats to use blueberries instead of strawberries and half & half instead of cream. Delicious. Really quite sweet.

My loose meal plan for this week:

  • Oven Fajitas, Cucumbers Vinaigrette, Watermelon
  • Black Bean Soup, Grilled Zucchini
  • Next Level Vegan Enchiladas, Coleslaw
  • Parmesan Crusted Chicken Cutlets, Pesto Pasta Salad, Grilled Peppers
  • Fish Tacos, Coleslaw
6 thoughts on “Food Lately

Comments are closed.