Quick and Simple Chocolate Pudding

This quick pudding was revolutionary to me; I LOVE pudding, especially the rich and creamy kind made with egg yolks and cream. So I have always eschewed the simpler cornstarch variety. But sometimes you want pudding after dinner and you don’t want to think too hard about it. This recipe is made in the microwave in about five minutes and can be cooled quickly in an ice bath if you are impatient (I was).

quick chocolate pudding

A decidedly NON-glamour shot as I was too impatient to eat it once it was actually cool.

Quick Chocolate Pudding

  • ½ – ¾ cup sugar
  • ⅓ cup cocoa powder
  • 3 T. cornstarch
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Whisk together sugar, cocoa, cornstarch and salt in a microwave safe bowl. Make sure there are no lumps or clumps. Slowly add milk and whisk to combine. Once I had added a cup, the mixture was sufficiently mixed without lumps (I hate lumpy pudding) and the rest of the milk could just be poured in.

Microwave on high for 3 minutes. Remove and stir. Place back in microwave and cook on HIGH in one minute intervals, stirring after each minute. After 2 -4 minutes, the pudding should be thick and glossy. Remove from microwave and stir in vanilla.

At this point you can cover with plastic wrap, tight against the pudding to avoid a skin, and cool in the fridge for a few hours OR if you are impatient you can place the bowl in an ice bath and stir slowly. The ice bath method takes about ten minutes and works best if you stir regularly, otherwise a skin can develop.

I’ve only done this with dairy milk, so I am not sure if the cornstarch to milk ratio would be the same for soy or almond milk, but I do think it easily converts to nondairy.

6 thoughts on “Quick and Simple Chocolate Pudding

  1. I have made it like this before, and like you I prefer the one made with egg and scalded milk, but this is a dang good quick and easy version. And a lot of times quick and easy taste better because you get to taste it sooner!

    1. Yes — that’s the truth! Although I’ve now gone down the rabbit hole looking up all the pudding/creme/mousse recipes. Love them all.

    1. It wouldn’t work without the cornstarch! You can make a thinner creme anglaise without a thickener, but it’s more of a pouring sauce (also delicious!). Since this is just milk and cocoa and sugar, I like to think of this as only moderately unhealthy. 🙂

Comments are closed.