What We Ate: April 10 – 16

Keeping to mostly quick and/or easy meals this week. I did NOT end up making the roast turkey meal as I had originally planned, as I ended up working Wednesday afternoon. Wednesday is supposed to be my day off now, but there were some schedule shenanigans that needed to be worked out. Anyway, I’m trying to save bigger endeavors for Wednesday, especially as we are using Sundays as our hiking day. This week that fell a little to the wayside, though. I worked late a few evenings and had an awful migraine Friday. We picked up take out three times. Ugh. Some weeks are like that, I guess.

Breakfasts

I didn’t capture all my breakfasts, and some I ate a couple of times. But here are the few I did catch!

Oatmeal w/Raisins and Walnuts, Strawberry Scones, Toast and Jam

Dinners

hot dogs and fries

Hot Dogs, Waffle Fries, Apple Slices 

  • I mentioned last week that I had been craving hot dogs and that craving happily coincided with a BOGO sale at Publix. I really try to eat only beef hot dogs as I like the flavor and texture of those the best. I paired them with the sweet potato waffle fries from Aldi, which are really, really good. I also made a big pitcher of fresh lemonade, using up lemons that had been wasting away on the counter.

BBQ chicken pizza

BBQ Chicken Pizza 

  • I used the Thin and Crispy Crust recipe on Budget Bytes and topped with leftover salsa chicken, chopped jalapenos, black beans, cheddar cheese, red onions and used BBQ sauce instead of red sauce. It turned out really tasty!!

black bean soup

Spicy Black Bean Soup

  • My usual. Topped with crushed tortilla chips, cheddar cheese and hot sauce.

zuchini and pea risotto

Zucchini and Pea Risotto

  • This is such a great spring time dish. It does take some committed time stirring it up, but that task doesn’t require a ton of attention. I am usually able to read while doing it! Drizzled with a little basil infused olive oil and additional grated parmesan over top.
4 thoughts on “What We Ate: April 10 – 16

  1. I am glad to hear you give the sweet potato waffle fries a thumbs up. I have seen them there a couple of times but didn’t buy them yet. I will now.

    I think you have to be kind to yourself and just know that some weeks are a little more difficult than others. Deal with them as you have to and move on!

    1. Thanks Anne — I hope you do like the waffle fries. 🙂 And thank you for the reminder to be kind to myself. I tend to keep a running mental score sheet of how I’m doing — it’s not always helpful.

  2. Everything looks very tasty, Laura! I’ll have to try the Aldi sweet potato waffle fries one day. I tend to get Alexia from Publix when they have a BOGO sale if I happen to have $1.00 off coupons as well.

    I hope your migraine went away and that you get to enjoy a hike today!

    1. Thanks Nathalie! My headache is gone and so we are heading out this afternoon. I’m really looking forward to the hike.

      I love those Alexia fries! Actually I think that the Publix brand are pretty good, too. I might be an equal opportunity sweet potato fry enthusiast. 🙂

Comments are closed.