Spicy Peanut Noodles

spicy peanut noodles with the works

This is a super easy recipe and it is very quick as well. Paired with a dark green vegetable (or any vegetable, I just think green veggies complement the peanut sauce), dinner can be on the table in fewer than 20 minutes. We sometimes like to throw in sauteed tofu on top of the noodles for extra protein; I’d imagine that ground pork or chicken might be good too.

spicy peanut noodles

Spicy Peanut Noodles

Serves 3-4

  • 8 oz angel hair pasta (or soba noodles)
  • 1/4 head green cabbage, thinly sliced (optional)
  • 1/4 – 1/3 c. peanut butter, smooth or chunky
  • 2 tbsp. rice vinegar
  • 1 -2 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. roasted sesame oil
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp. fresh grated ginger (optional)
  • red pepper flakes or sriracha to taste
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • chopped cilantro (optional)
  • chopped peanuts (optional)
  1. Bring a pot of water to boil and cook pasta according to directions on box. Add the cabbage with the noodles. Drain and set aside.
  2. In a liquid measuring cup, stir together peanut butter, rice vinegar, soy sauce, sesame oil brown sugar and optional ginger. I sometimes heat the mixture in the microwave for 30 -40 seconds, although you don’t have to do this. It makes it a little easier to stir. After heating I stir in the red pepper flakes or sriracha.
  3. Combine noodles, cabbage, all but about two tablespoons of the green onions and the sauce in a large bowl. Toss to combine. Garnish with remaining green onions, chopped cilantro and chopped peanuts. Quick, easy and good!

ETA 4/10: I forgot to add ginger to my ingredient list. You can leave it out if you want, but it’s such a nice touch! To make my life a little easier, I use the jarred, pre-grated ginger that you can find in the produce section at your grocery store.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Peanut Noodles

  1. OOh that looks super easy to make and delicious! I’ll have to try it. I only buy tofu when I can get it almost for free at Publix (BOGO and coupons) but maybe some stir-fry chicken would do nicely. Thanks!

    1. It IS both easy and delicious! I think chicken would probably taste great in this dish. Just a note — I realized I forgot to add grated ginger to the ingredient list. I stir it into the sauce with the vinegar, soy sauce and sesame oil. I’ve edited the recipe, but just so you know!

Comments are closed.