Grocery Haul: Aldi, BJs, Target

Ok, technically Target only provided shower cleaner, but it all comes out of the same pot of money, so mostly this is Aldi and BJs. Also. What was I thinking that this week didn’t count for March? April doesn’t even start until tomorrow. It’s not a super big deal — my reckoning is fairly fluid. But I did spend quite a bit of money (comparatively speaking) this week. I am trying to be proactive about my new work schedule and get some things cooked, gradually, for my freezer to make late nights easier. Also, I’ve been fairly successful at cooking down the contents of my freezer and really didn’t have quite a few things on hand. I will probably actually make another trip to BJs in April that is kind of large, but then should be able to stick to the smaller number of items that I like to purchase there on a more regular basis.

Aldi1_032916

Aldi, Pantry & Fridge

  1. Organic Apple Juice, 64oz @ $2.69
  2. Milk, half gallon @ $2.95
  3. Dried Cherries, 5oz @ $2.45
  4. Milk Chocolate Hazelnut Bars, 5 pack @ $1.99
  5. Tahini Dressing, 1 jar @ $1.99
  6. Diced Green Chiles, 2 4oz cans @ $.65/ea
  7. Petite Diced Tomatoes, 4 14.5oz cans @ $.59/ea
  8. Whole Grain Mustard, 1 jar @ $1.29
  9. White Corn Tortillas, 20 ct bag @ $1.49

Aldi2_032916

Aldi, Produce and Cheese

  1. Celery, 2 heads @ $.79/ea
  2. Zucchini, 24oz @ $1.79
  3. Navel Oranges, 4lb bag @ $2.99
  4. Pineapple, 1 @ $1.29
  5. Bananas, 2 lbs @ $1.38
  6. Russet Potatoes, 10lb bag @ $1.99
  7. Sliced Swiss Cheese, 7 oz @ $1.99

2nd Aldi Trip, not pictured

  1. 5 Cheese Deli Pizza, 1 @ $4.99
  2. Maraschino Cherries, 1 jar @ $1.49
  3. Milk Chocolate Hazelnut bars, 5 pack @ $1.99
  4. Ciabatta Rolls, 6 ct @ $2.49
  5. Bananas, 2lbs @ $.90
  6. Everything Bagels, 6 ct @ $1.69
  7. Pineapple, 1 @ $1.29

Total: $46.64

The 2nd trip quoted was actually taken at the end of last week, when I knew I probably wasn’t going to be very successful in cooking after all of the  odd changes to my schedule. That deli pizza, the rolls and the bagels were fantastic for quick meals. I generally make us breakfast each morning so having bagels that I could just throw in the toaster was pretty nice. And instead of cooking some of the chicken up in the more elaborate way I had planned, I just baked a few breasts with lemon and garlic and we used that for sandwiches and salads and so on.

When I stopped by Aldi this week, I knew I wanted to take advantage of the price on potatoes. I picked a few other things up because I was looking ahead to some freezer meal ideas and wanted to have the ingredients on hand. The dried cherries are for chocolate cherry scones, maybe this weekend or possibly the next. Lots of celery because I want to finally roast one of the turkeys from my freezer and I will then make soup. The mustard and the dressing were not planned, but I will definitely use the mustard. The dressing just intrigued me. The oranges aren’t quite as good a deal as they had been, but they still looked (and taste) good, so I went for them. I had hoped to pick up asparagus and Brussels sprouts, but it was pretty late in the evening on a Tuesday, so I was not surprised that most of the sale vegetables were sold out. I picked up the Swiss cheese to make chicken cordon bleu meatballs, but when I got home I realized that we had already eaten the ham. So I’ll have to find a use for that. Shouldn’t really be a hardship. 😉

BJs1_032916

BJs–Produce, pantry, dairy

  1. Chopped Walnuts, 3lb bag @ $14.99
  2. White Mushrooms, 24 oz @ $3.99
  3. Crumbled Feta Cheese @ $5.99
  4. Sharp Cheddar Cheese, 2lbs @ $5.79
  5. Grated Pecorino Romano @ $7.79
  6. Shallots, 1lb @ $3.49
  7. Kalamata Olives @ $6.99
  8. Tofu, 2 14 oz blocks @ $3.79
  9. Peanut Butter Crackers (40 ct) @ $6.79
  10. Raisins, 2 4lb boxes @ $6.49/ea
  11. Degree (Men’s), 4 ct @ $7.99
  12. White vinegar, 169oz @ $3.29

BJs2_032916

BJs — Meat, Poultry

  1. 88% Lean Ground Beef, 5.3lbs @ $16.34
  2. Ground Chicken, 3lbs @ $7.99
  3. Seasoned Chicken Breast Nuggets, 3lbs @ $9.99

Total: $116.77

I like BJs, although I don’t think they have the best deals on everything. I do like that I can buy large quantities of things I use regularly, although that can be a double-edged sword — a 40 ct. box of PB crackers is kind of awkward. For me the best values are in the meat and in some of the dried goods. They have some produce items that are regularly a great price and others that are just ridiculous. I don’t really look at much else in the store. I picked up a ground beef and ground chicken for freezer cooking, although my chicken plans are probably going to change a bit since I don’t have ham right now. The chicken nuggets were a total impulse buy although they are actually pretty tasty. They were a perfect easy supper as my shopping after work lasted a bit longer than I expected. Raisins were a definite need as we had run out last month but they were on sale later this month, so I wanted to wait to buy them. Michael eats them pretty much every morning in his oatmeal, and I like them a lot just as a snack, too. Even without a sale, they are a pretty good price but the sale price brought them to $1.62/lb. I bought two boxes. I picked up the mushrooms because I want to make shepherd’s pie with some of the ground beef. I also plan to make stuffed cabbage soup using some of my cabbage from Aldi and this beef. I will also just freeze a couple of packs of beef for future use as well. We go through walnuts like crazy. Most of the other items are staples.

targe_032916

Target

  1. Daily Shower Cleaner, 32oz @ $1.74

Total: $1.86

I don’t know if maybe Method discontinued their shower spray or if Target just no longer carries it, but I ended up with this as a substitute. I find that using this and also sticking to shower gel instead of bar soap helps to keep the soap scum from building up in my bathtub/shower. I guess it’s probably cheaper to just use the bar soap and put a little more elbow grease into cleaning, but personally the extra expense is so worth it to me.

Weekly Total: $165.27

Way over my typical budget, although my stated budget (in December) is actually $400/month. I just try to keep things much lower generally so that the BJs trips don’t send me over all the time. I’ll tally things up over the weekend and see how I did.

2 thoughts on “Grocery Haul: Aldi, BJs, Target

  1. I don’t know how you make grocery shopping pictures pretty but you do 🙂

    I counted my shopping trip (done on 3/30 and 3/31) as part of the April budget because most of what I bought will be consumed in April.

    Chicken Cordon Bleu meatballs sounds awesome. If you make them, will you please post the recipe? And yum to the Chocolate Cherry Scones. I have several scones recipe but the only one I make is that Triple Berry Oatmeal one from Driscoll’s. I do want to try the Ginger Pear Scones recipe that I clipped a long time ago but I always forget to make it when pears are on sale. Maybe I’ll try it with canned pears.

    I think that if you’d rather spray cleaner in your shower and use shower gel, more power to you! Who wants to spend their life cleaning anyway?

    Have a great weekend!

    1. Haha, mostly I don’t have a ton of space so must stack strategically. A bit of a theme in my photography, actually. 🙂

      The Chicken Cordon Bleu meatballs are from the Skinnytaste cookbook. She also has a website and the recipe may be on there. I’m not sure if I’ll get around to making them anytime soon, since I messed up with the ham, but I will try to remember to post the recipe!

      I LOVE scones. I make all different kinds, although lately we’ve really been enjoying the cranberry orange scones I make. I get most of my scone recipes from joyofbaking.com and adapt according to what I have on hand.

Comments are closed.