What We Ate: March 13 – 19

Lots of simple meals and leftovers this week. Also, a really decadent dessert for book club. Yum!

  1. Black Bean Soup
    1. I used the rest of the beans that I had cooked for last week’s tacos and made our favorite black bean soup. It is so easy and so fast once the beans are cooked. I add a roasted red pepper, a can of rotel tomatoes and a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, then liquid smoke at the very end. Serve with sour cream and/or cheddar cheese.
  2. Corned Beef and Cabbage Soup, Cheddar Soda Bread
    1. I have really been enjoying the SkinnyTaste website and this recipe was a great one for St. Patrick’s Day. I had a slightly larger piece of brisket than her original recipe called for, although with the fat trimmed and after simmering for 3 -4 hours, it really ended up shrinking down to almost the same amount. I made this is my super huge soup pot and ended up with 5 quarts, 2 of which are in the freezer for quick meals in the future. The soda bread came about because I didn’t want to make the typical current filled soda bread and the other savory recipes took longer than I had. It was really good, too.
  3. Salted Pretzel Blondies with Toasted Marshmallow Topping
    1. This was the bookclub dessert and it was SO GOOD. Best right still warm from the oven, but still very yummy the next evening at book club.
  4. Mustard and Herb Rubbed Pork Loin, Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Bourbon Apples
    1. Another really tasty meal. The pork loin had been in the freezer for a while and I wanted to try something new, so this mustard and herb rub ended up being a combination of two recipes that I found online. I rested the roast on carrots, onions and celery and then used those vegetable and the fatty broth to start the corned beef and cabbage soup the next evening. The bourbon apples were an inspired way to use up some apples that had seen better days. They were so good, although Michael had a potato instead (he doesn’t really like cooked apples).
