Large Batch Taco Seasoning

taco seasoning

This mix is a mash up of a few recipes that I’ve come across online (and there are a zillion out there, mine may not be the best for you), but I constantly forget what I use so I am preserving it here in the hopes that I won’t be frantically opening up bookmarked recipes trying to remember my formula!

In general, I prefer to mix up my own seasoning mixes — both to save money and control ingredients. You can use this as you would any time a recipe calls for taco seasoning. I chose to keep salt in my mix but if you need to avoid or reduce salt — you could do that here. I just cannot guarantee the taste. Finally, I add a little water and corn starch when I incorporate this into cook meat (or meat substitute). I don’t know that this is necessary, but I like the kind of slick sauce that results. I store this in a pint canning jar along with my other dry herbs & spices; this recipe makes enough for between 8-12 pounds of ground meat.

Large Batch Taco Seasoning

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup plus 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2.5 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2.5 teaspoons onion powder
  • 2.5 teaspoons red pepper flakes
  • 2.5 teaspoons oregano
  • 5 teaspoons paprika
  • ¼ cup plus 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons salt (more to taste)
  • 3 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon finely ground pepper

Directions:

  • In small bowl, mix all ingredients and store in airtight container. Or you can mix it together in the container you are going to store it in–just give it a shake. I prefer to stir it together in a large bowl so that I can be sure all the different spices are equally distributed, but shaking would probably save a little time.

For Tacos:

  • Add 2 to 3 tablespoons of this mixture plus 1/2 cup of water & 1 teaspoon cornstarch to one pound of cooked meat (of your choice). Simmer over medium heat, stirring frequently until there is very little liquid left in the pan.

Note: You may also add 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour or arrowroot powder to the pound of cooked meat to thicken up the mixture, if you choose to avoid corn starch.

