Food Recently

spice bourbon cider

Bourbon Mulled Cider

The bourbon is from Wigle Distillery in Pittsburgh (they use Pennsylvania grown grains and do everything in house) and the cider is from Airesman Orchards, in my hometown. A nice little memento from our recent trip north. I use R.W. Knudson’s pre-made mulling spice tea bags, although you can obviously put together a spice blend from scratch.

mixed bean and squash stew

Mixed Bean Stew with Winter Squash, from Ready When You Are (Martha Rose Shulman)

This was fantastic.  The squash adds this delightful sweetness to the stew and there was enough to freeze a portion for a later dinner and STILL have leftovers for our lunch during the week. The recipe is going into regular rotation, for sure. Everything from this book has been fantastic and really started my love affair with Shulman. I ordered several used copies of her books for myself for Christmas (well…Michael and I gave each other the opportunity to choose our own gifts this Christmas, so technically these cookbooks will be from him).

applesauce muffins

Applesauce Spice Muffins, from The Bread Bible (Beth Hensperger)

Taste was good, texture was off because I over mixed them. I don’t know that I’ll make them again; not my favorite way to use homemade applesauce!

oven wings 1

Crispy Oven Baked Buffalo Wings, from the Cook’s Illustrated Meat Book (Cook’s Illustrated)

These were fantastic. Next time I’ll remember to turn the wings midway through cooking so that both side get crispy. But really amazing way to do wings without the hassle and nastiness of deep-frying.

indonesian chicken slaw

Indonesian Chicken Pineapple Slaw with Spicy Peanut Dressing, from Salad for Dinner (Jeanne Kelley)

Another total win. I used the meat from roasted chicken thighs rather than roasted chicken breast as the recipe suggested, simply because that was what I had on hand. Michael and I both thought that baked tofu would be a fantastic substitute for the chicken; I think both of us would have preferred it.

mujadarrah

Mujaderrah with a Fried Egg and Roasted Carrots, Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone (Deborah Madison)

Madison’s version of mujaderrah is very simple and relies primarily on the flavor of the rice, lentils and onions. I have seen recipes that call for (what may possibly be more authentic) spice blends that include cinnamon and allspice–I may try that someday, but for now this is very much a family favorite.

