Coconut Potato Curry and Naan

IMG_1569

Garnished with chopped spinach 😉 and the egg is underneath all the potatoes and squash.

I was inspired by this meal on the Budget Bytes website and created my own version of Beth’s Potato Curry. I also used her recipe for homemade naan and it was excellent. I tried to make naan at home several years ago (before Michael and I were married, I think…so at least 8 years ago) and it was a pretty big disaster. Of course, being me, I decided that I should try making pakora, naan, samosas and navratan korma all at the same time — having never really made Indian food of any kind before. I made a mess and set off the smoke detector and was pretty much scarred by the experience. I’ve dabbled in curries and other main dishes since, but had never attempted naan again until this meal. It was so easy! It was so good! The only thing I did differently from her recipe was to use vegetable oil in my pan and not non-stick spray.

For the potato curry, I was worried that the curry wouldn’t be saucy enough and I didn’t want to use only water to thin it out. I have a lot of coconut milk in my pantry from a recent trip to BJs and decided to use that. I also wanted to make this a one dish meal (more or less). I added zucchini and peas right to the curry instead of cooking a separate side dish. As a bonus, these additions stretched the recipe out to six servings, bringing the cost per person down. Both my husband and I thought it was really yummy! In the photo you’ll see some rice grains peaking out from under the potatoes–we had a little jasmine rice left over from a previous meal and I wanted to use it up. Potatoes and rice and naan made for a pretty carb heavy meal — next time I’ll skip adding the rice.

My adapted version of the curry recipe is below and I included a cost analysis for comparison.

Coconut Potato Curry

Serves 6, $1.19/serving, $7.17/recipe

2 lbs russet potatoes (this was 6 small/medium potatoes for me), $1.00

1 medium zucchini, $.78

1 cup frozen green peas, $.50

1 T. olive oil, $.09

1 T. minced garlic (about 1 large clove), $.09

1 T. minced ginger (I used sliced ginger that I had in the fridge), $.35

2 T. curry powder, $.88

1 T garam masala, $.40

1 15 oz can tomato sauce, $.83

1 cup coconut milk (about half of a 13.5 oz can), $.75

6 eggs, $1.50

  1. Peel and chop potatoes into 3/4 – 1″ cubes. Place potatoes in a large saucepan and cover with water. Bring to a boil and cook for about 5 – 7 minutes, until a fork easily pierces the potatoes. Chop the zucchini into similar sized pieces; place in a small bowl with peas. Put bowl close to wear you will cook the curry.
  2. While the potatoes are cooking, heat olive oil, garlic and ginger over medium low heat. When fragrant and just beginning to wilt, add curry powder and garam masala. Use a spatula to really incorporate spices into oil and aromatics. It will make a very thick paste. Cook for about 30 seconds.
  3. Add the tomato sauce, whisking to break up spice paste and really incorporate into sauce. Add coconut milk (make sure to shake can well before measuring out needed amount) and continue to whisk sauce. The coconut milk may look like it is separating when added to the tomatoes, but if you keep whisking the sauce will even out to a pale red color with no flecks of white. Reduce heat to low and cover pan.
  4. When potatoes have finished cooking, drain in a colander and carefully fold into heated sauce. Add zucchini and peas. Cover, bring heat up to medium and allow to simmer for a few minutes before poaching eggs. *At this point you can poach all six eggs or just enough for the number of people you are serving. I only poached two since it was just Michael and I eating.*
  5. Crack eggs into a small bowl or ramekin, one at a time. Made a small indentation in the potato curry and add egg. Continue until all desired eggs have been added to pan. Cover pan and poach until finished to your taste (I like a runny yolk, my husband likes a firmer yolk — it took about 6 -8 minutes for these two states to be achieved).
  6. Serve over rice or with naan.
